Summer Limbo

We are in the last week, the very last week of summer.

I’ve mentioned that this was a super short summer because they are shifting the year so that next summer can have extra time for construction.  It’s a good plan really, but, I can’t say I like short summer and I’m not wild about extra long summer next year either….

 

img_3773

The literal haze of summer.  Looks like I’m living in a white dome

 

Anyway, we are in that hazy post vacation time limbo.  There isn’t really enough time to start something new and after 2 weeks away from tv, the kids want to zone out to all that Netflix has to offer.  I’m 3 loads of laundry into the unpack process, that is about half way for unpacking because some of what we brought came home clean so it just needs to be put away.  The car needs to be thoroughly cleaned since carpool is coming up.  Aside from the events I talked about last time I wander around wondering what to do next because I can’t really start any of the 105 projects I want to start until kids are in school.

For the record, we put our impulsive decision to sell our house and move on a more realistic track.  We will still move but probably next May.  The plan is to list our house in March at the START of the season while kids are still at school making showing far easier.  This means we are reversing a few of the staging things for living but nowhere near all.  Our books and fabric and extra stuff will live in storage, but, project #1 is going to be to get our winter stuff back.  We are still house hunting and if the perfect one comes up we have basically figured out a way to get a downpayment without selling our house first but it’s complicated and I would prefer to sell ours and buy the next the normal way.  We know better what we want in the next house too so all for the good, little time wasted in round one.

However, the house thing creates a different sort of limbo too.  The process isn’t over, just delayed, so a percent of my brain is still working on how to improve the house to show, keep the house ‘show empty’ by resisting new purchases.  All projects go through a cost benefit with the hope that we get the money back in sale.  On the positive, I am going to put working out back on my list but even though I didn’t work out much over the summer my eating habit changes and general moving activity shaved a few pounds off and I’m nearly 10lb down from last year.  It was a happy surprise to have things fit better.

So we might not have a normal schedule this week we still have to feed the kids and breakfast time is now.  The highlight for today is a playdate for Niamh, back to school supply shopping for kids and art in the park tonight.  I also hope to get more done on the unpack but yesterday I also got the kitchen clean and baked so I have good momentum for the week.

Leave a Reply

