Archive | August 2, 2017

Glamping time

It has been a very crazy few days – let me fill you in and make my notes for future me to look up.

Driving to Pennsic was reasonably uneventful, the new things this year were driving in Konrad’s car (pulling a trailer) AND we brought Leah to help mind the children since Pennsic updated the rules and now you CAN bring kids that are not your own.  I have seen kids be kicked off site for not coming with their parents and there was a certain level of fear that this was going to go sideways on us but nope, it worked.  There were minor issues in driving but the only of note is that while Konrads SUV has way more towing capacity, it has way less interior space and we were all very squished the entire time.  On the positive, it was an easy drive and we maximized who could drive out overall since Lars is bringing more guys on Friday.  We did the whole trip in one day – leaving around 6:30 CST and arriving on site at 9ish CST.  Let’s just say there were only stops for gas and everyone was glad I packed a ton of car food.  Big win this year was pepperoni and crackers but we had the old standby of peanut butter and jelly, and, lunch meat plus some yogurt tubes, string cheese, chip bags,  grapes etc.

Saturday and Sunday and a chunk of Monday were all about making a camp worth the title Glamp but we have our shower, sinks, fridges, 2 dining areas, pantry, courtyard etc all set.  Yes, there are MORE pretty camps but my theory is I want to balance pretty with easy to set up/take down and storage and price.  This year we are doing well especially considering we had to re arrange things due to a new version of power/water on the block but it is better now I think, just took some adjusting after looking at it for a day and by the end of the 2 weeks we will know what to keep for next year and what didn’t work well.

Having a mothers helper with me all the time is a level up better than a 3h a day nanny like last year.  I think she may actually be bored sometimes because the kids just play with friends in camp, but, she is super helpful when there just needs to be more of me for all the needs.  I’m still pulled in a few directions at times but that’s just part of my world.

Today is my designated work day so I can isolate myself in the business center and click off all the tasks I could not pre arrange but it also gives me a chance to post a little something here.  No promises for other days though, but now that it is in my brain set to post I’ll get some pictures here over the next two weeks to give you a little taste of what we do here.

This ‘vacation’ is not for everyone, I know a segment of my facebook friends from PTO and school think I’m semi crazy for all this but I’m generally glad that I can post about my hobby and I just take the questions as they come.  Yesterday I finally got out of camp and saying hi to everyone and it is always fun to see who changed and who is exactly the same.  I met new people, I saw a person I have not seen since she was a toddler and had a nice conversation, I’m still missing people but I’ll wander and find who I find.  The banner event is that I actually got to a class yesterday!  Probably my first in 20 years and it is all because Niamh has taken over the scheduling of things and she choose a felting class and we left with about 15 little balls ranging from marble to lacross size.  She has more plans today and I’m reminding her that over-scheduling is the road to crazy but I guess she comes by it honestly.

Time for me to get done with computer time.  I’ve done what I need to do with 2 exceptions but I can’t post what I don’t have.  Hope you all are having a happy August!

 

 

