Pennsic prep – the final 5 days

I had a very productive weekend!  Not only did I get quite a few things sewn, I also found all the garb in storage.  There was a vague worry that an entire box of the current sizes had been deeply buried in storage but I got it out without too much stress.  We might not have perfect wardrobes, but, we will have enough I think.

My plan today is to finish evaluating the pile for who fits what and triple check that each pile is enough of the right things.  Have you ever rushed to pack for a trip and just figured you would take your clean laundry basket?  That does not work, by the way, you think it should be a perfect week of clothing but it really isn’t.  Same concept with my totes of garb, you feel like a pile the height of my child  would yield outfits for the week but some years they grow tall and need skirts and some garb is too warm and you get the idea…  the only way is to stand there with each child and try on all things in the size range.

img_3488

The end goal is to have everything packed and delivered to the person packing the trailer by Wednesday.  I feel like an important step, the ‘pack the car’ step will be missing from my life this year, but, I have done extra packing plenty of years so I don’t think my lifetime average will be negatively impacted.

Thursday the plan is to have a clean up the house and hang out day.  I hope my plans actually work out and there are no crazy departures from the normal schedule the next few days.

This is probably not the wild and crazy fun blog this week.  I’m just going to pack and parent.  Next thing after I publish here is to make the list for packing, it has been bouncing in my head but with the house rearrangement, there are not as many notebooks as there once were. I have done this dozens of times but it still looks daunting before you start.  I may go and buy New Totes!  that will jump start the process.  My old ones are getting beat up anyway~

img_3505img_3501

Just in case you thought we did nothing fun all weekend we did head out to the mall for a little fun.  We had a mission for a special bottle for a friend and since we were at the mall we got milkshakes and went on some rides.  Just enough to be fun, not so much that they got crabby.  Pizza dinner and back to work but I’m glad to be as far along as I am.  All things I sew now are bonus, I don’t totally NEED anything and that is a nice feeling.

I also got a new phone!  My old one was 5 years old and the battery was down to almost nothing.  I had been hesitating because I like all the info and pictures I have on my old phone and didn’t want to start over but they guy at the store had a transfer machine so my new phone is identical and it feels nice to have a phone working all day again.

I’ll try and take a picture of all that I created this week, I’m pretty pleased with myself 🙂  Now I need to get breakfast and the day going, my ‘screen’ time is up!

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Pennsic prep – the final 5 days”

  1. Janis Gore says :

    Great photo.

    Like

    • kateluthner79 says :

      thanks, I’m assuming you mean the cool slime (green thing) pic because that is just a cool thing to play on and created fun pictures. The one with them in the ride I’m proud of because it is one of those rides that jumps/drops you fast and I’m happy I got them at all! I’m fairly sure you don’t mean the surely one of my #1 who was mad I made her try on stuff instead of play with friends, but, she does like the dress :).

      Like

  2. fancypaperblog says :

    Good luck with the prep! You sound very organised though do should be great. Car parking and unpacking is a job I keep having to explain to my husband- he doesn’t see it!

    Like

    • kateluthner79 says :

      I try! I just nearly wrote a super long reply here but decided it gets to be its own post. Thanks for the compliment though, on the inside sometimes it feels like I’m hardly holding it together but so far this week I’m feeling good about the direction of things.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

