Archive | July 5, 2017

Two monday week

img_3400.jpg

I’ve long said I love Monday, I’m in a distinct minority but that is what it is.  So often holidays STEAL my Monday but this time I get an extra!  There was the real Monday but it was a 1 day week since 4th of July is a holiday and it felt very weekend like all day and now I wake up on a Wednesday feeling like another Monday.  I’m not complaning~

This week also marks my 5th year as a stay at home parent.  It has been a busy 5 years and each year had unique kid challenges but this year is feeling a bit easier.  Only a tiny bit, there are new problems to figure out like sassy girls or not listening kids or 3 different friend groups to somehow maintain (not to mention trying to sell a house and move). They are physically easier situations, much less active than chasing 2 kids while wearing a baby or keeping an eye on 3 at a park when at least 1 has a death wish.  Now I mostly act as a home base and they find me.  I can’t quite relax at a park or playground but I don’t worry as much.  I even read about 5 pages of a book!  My method is to read a page, look up and find everyone, read another etc. Anyway, life is never easy but now they all use the toilet so I’m considering that a win for years to come.  My mom bag is diaper free.

Getting home last week and getting back in the MN life has taken all my energy.  There were house showings, work meetings, restocking the house, and a big birthday party for Lars.  Monday I took the kids +2 to the park and beach and then started the sewing I need to do before our trips this year.  Independence day was celebrated to 90% with a parade and a lake picnic but there were sad faces about no fireworks.  It was too late and they were asleep before the fireworks started.  I have to find a display elsewhere this summer because I like them too but besides the lateness, a 3rd major outing in a day is asking for trouble.

The rest of the week is mostly unplanned.  I MIGHT get to workout?!?  The house is pretty good, working from 6-8am is keeping me up to date, still, have things to do but I’m not frantic.  There is sewing to do and prep for the event next week and playdates to make but for this moment I think I’m as up to date as ever.  See, that is what having 2 Mondays in a week will do for you 🙂