What did we do in NY?

This is totally not a guide to what-to-do in NY, like I said yesterday visiting my parents is not your normal visit to a person or place.  For the sake of completeness I do want to write what we did so I don’t forget.

This is not in order… it is in the order they uploaded and I don’t have time to mess with them so without further Adu;

Muddy Puddle days at a local farm we go visit most visits.  This is a really cool event where for $4 kids get to dive, slide and generally romp in mud puddles.  We nearly didn’t go because the morning was rainy and cool but our friends really did and so we wanted to spend time with them more than avoid hypothermia and fortunately for all it turned around and it was gorgeous and sunny and perfect.  Miss Math has a much better picture when they were all head to toe mud, this is a post mud one after we hosed them down.

img_3276

img_3284

Many trips to the beach and we learned that Prima loves to dig in the sand.  She loves to dig in anything but sand makes the most gratifying hole when you are a 2lb dog.

img_3200

We had a morning brunch in the park with my friend Pete and Will and Greta and their various spouses and children.  Again, awesome weather and the kids all click and play so well they were begging to see each other again.  (Good thing we visit for Christmas too).  Pete gets the boy scout award by being the most prepared friend I have.  He makes me feel disorganized by comparison because while I can fish out a band-aid from my mom-bag, he had a full on med kit with 19 sizes of band-aids and none of them were covered in cookie crumbs or sand (like what is at the bottom of my bag)

img_3297

Another yearly stop to the Holtsville Science Center where they have a rescue zoo.  All the animals are rescues one way or another.  This time the peacocks were in full bloom and chasing around the hens who were ignoring them.  We also saw some pretty active bears and the normal crew of other animals.

img_3304img_3309

An absolutely unique opportunity happened this year – we happened to be in town for the PROM!  so 20 years after my prom, I’m taking a picture of my 2nd youngest cousin get ready for hers.  Sayville does something pretty cool.  Part 1 – they do a mass picture event at the local pretty picture park (where I also did my wedding pictures).  This is so fun because parents are invited and you see all the kids and it saves figuring out where else to do pictures.  They did the same for my prom and I loved it then too.  Cool thing 2; now they REQUIRE you to go to the prom in a giant party bus.  The buses leave from the picture spot and I think this does three great things; takes out the cost of limo (and the pressure to have a limo), limits pre-prom drinking risks, and keeps the schedule rolling better because you don’t have various traffic jams coming and going to the prom.  This is a newish thing and I like it but, I still love my prom limo experience…  The kids were entranced with all the dresses and they were like cheerleaders LOUDLY commenting on how much they loved this dress or that one.  I think they brightened quite a few teens day but none more than their A#1 cousin who was most pretty overall.

img_3255

img_3257

On our very last day we met up with Pete and his girls and my nephews and we ran all over a nature trail.  We scared away most of the nature but had a great time.  Pete brought the good camera so I may get better than my 2 random snapshots.

img_3330

img_3335

One of the unplanned great coincidences was that my cousin Antonia and her 3 kids were visiting the same time we were!  We hung out a few times including the twins first active beach experience.  Twin 1-year-olds are a challenge but Antonia is young and quick so running in separate directions was a fun test for her.  They are the sweetest little people who are at that mobile but ‘idiot’ stage and as an aunt, I found it nothing short of adorable.

img_3235

I have to say Miss Math is the ABSOLUTE best friend about making time for me and I am forever happy for all the time she creates for me.  This trip 2 other friends made really awesome efforts to come see me.  I missed getting a picture of one who drove 4 hours in traffic to see me for 3 hours, but here is my other.  She left as soon as work ended down south and drove the night to get to Sayville the morning I was leaving and texted at 6am that she was there and needed a nap and to call repeatedly until I woke her up.  We spent an hour or so catching up and seeing her pregnant belly and she saw all the productions of my pregnant belly plus the puppy (she has been a superb pup mom forever)

img_3343img_3340

I put this on Instagram too, this is my trio solo.  We went on plenty of beach and playground trip just us while the rest of NY was still in school.  They may fight, they may drive me crazy sometimes but if you think about it, who can you spend 24/7 with all the time?  We did do something every day but it was not a rush-rush vacation so there was plenty of time just us or just us and my parents.  I am not quite at the read a book stage of parenting, I still need to have eyes on them too frequently but it is nice that there are times I can just sit and relax.  2 weeks is a pretty long time to be gone but not long enough to feel like we fit in quite yet.  I end up missing my stuff, my car, my routine and to all the busy people who found time for me I know how hard it can be since usually, I have a really really full routine.  The break was nice but I’m glad to be back here even if I have zero family, all my friends are from the past few years so no ‘remember when we were’ conversations or history and my network is 1/12 of what it could be if I had stayed in my hohometown.   Moving here was a good decision but not an easy one but as always, I’m more glad for what I got to do and who I did get to see then sad about what I missed or leaving it behind again after 2 weeks.

 

img_3234

Bye bye guys, so glad we had this trip and everyone has an open invite to visit us!

img_3223

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

