Back to the MN life

Yes, yes, yes… we made it back.  Reasonably easily even!

Last I posted we were in the vacation land of NY where I had made nearly no plans but managed to fill the days with friends and family.  The trend continued, I am super lucky to have friends that will twist their week or weekend to work me in and my sister even scheduled her house warming for when I was there so not only could I help warm her new cute house, but, see a ton of family and mutual friends all in one spot.  Above is one picture, I’ll do a post with more pictures and the ‘what we did’ list for posterity, but, the nature of travel and visiting is on my mind and I have a few thoughts ~

When one visits a place like a tourist they never expect to see friends, maybe some old friend is local and you do a lunch or something to catch up but usually, you are there to visit the PLACE.

When one goes to visit a specific person you see a TON of that person and the I must say, people who you spend 24/7 with on a visit like that are like ‘next level’ friends.  However, while you are visiting that person/family you do some tourist things but somehow even if you have 10 other friends in the area, unless they are mutual to the person you are officially visiting you don’t see much of those other friends.

What we do is a hybrid because we go ‘home’ the people we officially visit are my parents because we stay there.  The hybrid part is that there is a mix of people I see quite frequently while I’m there almost as much as if I was there to spend the week with them, and, people that I see once or twice – more like the standard visit a place model.  Balancing the two styles plus also wanting to cram a little culture and adventure like visiting a place and time to see all my giant family ends up getting hard but I would not trade it for anything.  I hate when I have to miss something or a timing just won’t work but I also choose to focus on all the positives possible.  If I see an old friend for 20 min, that is 20min more than nothing!

I also told myself this is my only break all summer because the rest is all about house market, possible move, camping trips, and full-time parenting.  I got dumped directly back into the soup because the dream of the house selling on day 1 didn’t happen and so when we got home it was not the recovery day and luggage explosion it was scrub and clean and get ready for more showings.  We are in the low season of the summer for sales since it is prime graduation and holiday season the spring rush is over and the end of summer rush before school is yet to begin.  I’ll consider this week a practice and time to get a routine down that keep the house clean and kids happy (good wishes welcome!)

The timing of our return was also because of a very special day.  Today, June 29, is a milestone birthday for Lars and we had to be home!  We had to compromise a bit on the day because I had an afternoon work meeting that I had to go to but we spent a nice morning together seeing the house we might buy again, then he took the girls to the zoo and I did the work thing, and now the kids are playing and Lars gets a nap and we have a baby sitter coming in an hour so we can go out together.  I also scored on the birthday gift.  We did the normal t-shirt and little things but I got an instant pot, something he has never really heard of but given his cooking hobby I took the gamble and I won.  The best gifts are things you don’t know you want and/or something you would not just buy yourself.  The girls and I found it and my sleep deprived, travel tired brain recognized that this was IT and we got it.

So now you are all up on what I’m doing.  I hope to get back on a routine soon but who knows, that might change tomorrow.  The stay at home life is never dull if you’re doing it right.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

