Ny travel log

Yes! we are here, we did arrive!

When I go places like Texas or Flordia we have day by day itineraries and places to see and things to do.  When I go to NY my plans are pretty much ‘get there’ full stop.

If you remember before I left for NY I had a fever and strep and was more or less a mess but the girls were good and Prima was an all star and the travel was arranged to be simple (direct flight) and all worked as planned.  I’ve gotten to like a new trick for luggage and kids etc. If I am checking a bag at all, meaning I have to go to baggage no matter what, there is no point in dragging a rollalong or 2 through the airport because 9 times in 10 they can’t fit them in the overheads anyway and ask people to gate check.  I’ve started to just ask at the desk if they are going to be asking for gate checks and handing them over right there.  This time there was a problem with the luggage arriving, they unloaded the plane and then went on break or shift change or something because our luggage didn’t make the final step to the baggage belt.  The entire flight waited over an hour (at midnight) for it to be figured out.  The kids even made it through that with reasonable tempers and we got to my parents super late and ready for bed.

 

img_3149

where oh where is our luggage….. puppy in a baby bjorn

 

The next few days were the recovery and settle in and relax days.  I didn’t exercise, I sat and rested, I didn’t do much of anything.  I saw my sister and Miss Math and my grandmother and my cousins that are also visiting and other friends from highschool and really just did the mellow hang out thing.  That is still the general plan for the week left but now I have more energy and I’m feeling better.

The weather matched my mood more or less with some gray days that made you want to stay inside but now it is bright and sunny and I’m glad for the more happy play outside weather.

On the homefront, our house has had a few showings and tons of views in the official 5 days it is on the market.  I hope the perfect person finds it soon, ideally before we get back, because Lars is doing fine living in our model home but I don’t want to really try with the kids!  If we do, we will be doing tons of day-long outings to keep the house neat.

I’m going back to vacation mode, checking email and facebook a little each day but more focus on the activity around me.  While I say we have been not doing much, when I went to pull up some pictures there were plenty and here is a taste of our vacation life;

img_3221

playing with (second) cousins

img_3199

beach with friends, digging a giant hole

img_3162

boating with aunt Josie

 

img_3179

rainy day trip to a summer reading kick off, they had NO fun at all….

img_3169

Niamh steering for real, look at the concentration on her face

img_3161

birthday art kids are getting use daily

img_3175

took in an Akido class for a well rounded vacation

img_3185

I even went to a party without kids and with lipstick

 

2 responses to “Ny travel log”

  1. thislovelydayca says :

    I love aunties pearls!

    Like

Leave a Reply

