Party in a box

When we started this semi-impulsive move I looked ahead and saw that there were absolutely 2 birthday’s that would be quite in the thick of things and decided I HAD to give myself a break from doing ‘too much’ for the birthdays.  However, Fiona and Zoe’s birthday shouldn’t really suffer too much from our move so I tried to find a compromise.  Here is what I did.

#1. Since their birthdays are just 2 weeks apart, we found a weekend (the only free weekend day) in between and put their party on ONE day.

#2. We decided to use our new YMCA as the venue since they offered decent party packages and did have our date available so in a nod to the two kids, we actually booked 2 parties

  • Zoe turning 7 had more options based on age so we booked her a 3 hour party that included 1h of swimming, 1h of the bounce house, and 1h in the party room.
  • Fiona turning 5 had fewer options and to stagger the starts we just booked her a 2 hour party with 1h in the bounce house and 1h in the party room.
  • The staggered start meant we could greet each party of kids independently and they moved together as a group and we finished all together in the party room for 2 cakes.

#3. I gave myself a ‘pass’ on making all my decorations and running around to 3 different stores went to Oriental Trading and just clicked around until I had a party in a box. *because of my ongoing relationship with them, Oriental Trading treated me to this build your own birthday party in a box and in return I’m telling you all about it!

I had to be a little creative in some ways and in others there was a super obvious and easy choice but here is the party fresh out of the shipping box (a box I have reused and packed a bunch of family pictures in);img_2867

The EASY part was treat bag!  First I saw the cellophane bags (bottom right) and then I found the face bag (top right) and I just got both.  I hedged my bets about size and quality and in the end I actually used both.  The face bags have a narrow top but are otherwise really cute and easy to fill.  I put Boom Chicka Pop, the most awesome popcorn, into the cellophane bags and that gave me some nice bulk.  The other goodie bag fillings were also pretty easy to hunt up – the emoji stickers, stampers, and pins were all on the theme and good value.

Second most easy were the craft.  There are emoji scratch off crafts front and center on the site.  They really don’t create anything grand but kids really love scratching off the black to make the design and each packet comes complete for the craft so it was just hand one per kid and let them do what they do.

The Harder part was table wear.  Napkins and cups, no problem.  No easy options for plates? I searched emoji and smile and nada in the plate family but then I saw these ninja plates and figured they would work just fine.  I ended up just using some leftover paper plates for the dinner plate so it was all fine and looked festive. **going back today for links I see they have a dinner plate now!  Must have been sold out, but no cake plate so my ninja pick is still a good tip if you are doing an emoji them birthday**

The Hardest part was decor.  I didn’t need balloons because filling a balloon you purchase elsewhere is nearly impossible so I just buy them here.  In the end, I got the plain yellow pennant banner and my sharpie and I decorated while we watched some TV the night before.  Let me tell you, a 200f banner is REALLY long.  It did make the room look emoji theme with only 1 decoration so that is a big impact.  I ended up cutting it so I had a big one on the wall and a small one to decorate the serving table.img_2888

 

Overall a party in a box + a venue I didn’t need to clean made it a very fun and pretty easy party.  There were questions of service and organization on the part of the Y, but, I’m working on that.  Let’s just say you can’t expect much from teen party assistants….

It is not a secret that Oriental Trading is an easy one stop party shop but now there is proof that in 20min of shopping and a few minutes of assembly you can have a nearly Pinterest worthy party with nearly no effort.

I’m not sure I’ll be stacking parties like this again, it was a whirlwind, but give the time we have it was the best we could do and everyone had a good time so that is what counts.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

