Archive | June 8, 2017

Dear Fiona

Dear Fiona

Last week you turned 5 and it happened to be in the middle of us getting ready to move so it was not an ideal day but I think you really did like it.  Becki took you out for the day and you came back tired and happy but 5 year olds don’t stop – you went right out to Jujitsu with your sisters and came home exhausted and ready for cake (brownies) and bed.  I wonder if your whole 5th year will be as crazy.

img_2958

You are the child I think I have spent the most time with.  Somehow though you feel like you need me most still.  It is a little the age, a little bit you.  When I am around and something goes wrong I am the embodiment of a bunker, a band-aid, and teddy bear all in one person.  I have seen you work out problems and not fall apart so I know you can, but, I don’t mind being here for you always.

Preschool is over for the year and you did great.  Not a bit of separation issues beyond an extra hug every day.  Your teacher Ms. Kayla was fantastic and loved you and you loved her.  Now you know every letter and number and can write most of them very well.  You love to write actually, you write all the time.  Sometimes even on walls…  Your hobby right now is to cut interesting shapes out of paper so your cutting skills are very good.  When you draw and paint, and that is as often as I let you, you are making people and families and noticing odd little things about a person and adding them into the pictures.  Gone are the days of abstract, hello 10,000 pictures of our family 🙂  You are also getting decent at sounding out small words when you are in the mood, I hope you have fun in Kindergarten next year.

You did great with the carpool and you and Reilly are super good friends even though you are pretty different kids.  In school you made some true friends, friends I get the feeling we will be seeing a lot of over the next 6+ years.  I love when kids make friends completely outside of family influence – these are not the children of my friends or the siblings of sisters friends.  Selfishly, this usually means new friends for me because cool kids usually have cool parents and 5-year-olds can’t do playdates alone.  You think you can though, you think you can do nearly anything your sisters can and your TV  and music taste has been artificially aged.  Where Niamh was singing Laurie Berkner and Disney at this age, you sing “Way down Below” and “Cheap Thrills”.  The best was when you sang the same bit of another song; “1,2,3 your gonna come back to me, I’m the best baby you will ever ever see” when you were sure it was just a counting song for babies.  Oh well, that is what happens with #3.  You also have a better vocabulary and listen to audio books intended for kids 8+.  I never know how much sinks in but we recently listened to a Greek Myth book and just yesterday you told me that Zeus was God’s (Baby Jesus God you made clear) Godfather.  I’ll take that, seems like a realistic situation…

img_191518765708_10155336924787801_6037254415082674931_n

img_1920

As #3 you do tend to almost always have sisters around but this past two years you had significant time as the only child all day while they were at school.  Yes, we did tons together and you did want (and get) books and snuggles but for large chunks of time you like to do your OWN thing.  You don’t even want the puppy out with you.  I’m not sure what fantastic game is going on but you will swing on the swings and run around the yard for about 40 min happy as can be.  Same with your room – you go in there and have elaborate games with all the toys.  Eventually, you get bored and want to do things with me and there is almost always things to do.  You are probably the best at cleaning and loading the dishwasher because we do a lot of that.  Sometimes you even do chores all on your own, other times you still claim to be the baby.  Your view on life is usually 110%

Speaking of babies.  You still LOVE them.  You don’t actually have to have your 2 baby dolls at ALL times anymore and you actually are ok with missing any favorite toy at bedtime for the most part, but you still love them.  Our friend had a real baby and we would watch him and a real baby was a horse of a different color… you did have some jealousy for sure but you also had that internal protect the small thing instinct and did plenty to help him be happy and me take care of him.  I’m really glad we got that experience for you and I’m glad we could help a friend.

img_2751

Jumping over to gross motor (ha ha) this was a big year for you.  You can now swim pretty ok; we started in January and you didn’t really even want to get in the pool and now you bob and actually swim.  You are well on the way to really swimming, thanks, YMCA.  You are learning your bike but like your sisters, you are faster on a scooter or even just running.  You can monkey bar the whole way across and you will jump off way too many things.  You started Jujitsu 2 weeks ago and you’re not quite sure about it but I needed time to pack so you needed to go. You also just started archery and knife throwing with Dad, he says your are pretty good. For a large chunk of the summer and fall, we did Pokemon hunting, great reason for a walk and we walked all over town, miles a day most nice days.  I’m glad to have 3 active girls and I hope I’m a good role model even if I can’t do the monkey bars.

I’ve been writing on this for a few days so it is getting long.  I should really stop so here are some quick other things that were you at 4;  you still wanted to sleep with me and would often sneak in around 3am.  You fall asleep really fast most nights but 1 in 10 you stay up until 11.  You still have allergies and all colds turn into nasty chest issues and you need your machine.  Your favorite color is changeable, you love Addie and Reilly as your friends, and you still take baths mostly and are growing out of hair twirling so we might see you with longer hair someday.  In your 4th year you went to Hawaii, NY, PA, ND, WI Dells and WI in general, and all over MN.  You are not the weakest link on a road trip and you are getting pretty good at operating all the electronics solo.  There are still tantrums but you actually lean more toward surly sadness.  You mimic and tag along and drive your sisters crazy but you also play with them – the destruction phase is over.  You still put way too many things in your mouth and absently pick at things until they are in bits.  We get you gum to try and help and it actually does.  Your well child is today and I expect them to report that you are 40lb because we just weighed you at the vet Tuesday.  You love to snuggle and cuddle and even if it is tiring for me, I am still the answer to most of the problems of the world for you.

Love

Mom