Box 1 of many

You would think after a massive announcement like “we are moving” it would be all about the lists and the action but in reality, making that choice has slowed me down!

The thing is we don’t know where we are moving so that puts when totally into ‘I don’t know” territory.  We met with an agent we like who has a stager so until we meet with the stager I don’t really want to do major changes without her general guidance.  So yes, I know the basics but again, if we are not selling our house until mid summer (so we don’t end up homeless) then I’m not going to take down all the family pictures and make our closets so minimalist that they show well but I have 2 changes of clothes.  Before this decision I was on a path to really decluttering anyway, getting the stuff organized and either keeping, selling or donating and you may say “just do that, can’t hurt” and I agree, but, what about timing?  If I don’t have time to actually list and sell stuff should I keep it to do post move or donate it?

Before this decision I was on a path to really decluttering anyway, getting the stuff organized and either keeping, selling or donating and you may say “just do that, can’t hurt” and I agree, but, what about timing?  If I don’t have time to actually list and sell stuff should I keep it to do post move or donate it?  Then all the things get a cost benefit analysis step that my brain starts to go crazy over because of the current value of money v storage v time etc.  Sometimes an MBA finance can be used for evil not good… 2 weeks ago I had a plan and now I have NOT a plan yet.


I’m trying to just focus on the things that need to be done and a side of decluttering.  The pantry is now Pinterest perfect again and I did a good number on my hall closet that was calling out for attention anyway.   This is where box 1 came from – I have packed all our winter gear into box 1….  Closet looks empty with out! If we do need to show our house I need to start trucking stuff off to storage BUT we got a possible private party offer that is interesting so until Tuesday again, holding pattern.  Before Tuesday I just need to clean like I mean it so even though the house isn’t being ‘shown’ it is still not a distraction.

The thing we are doing today is to bring the kids to a model home.  They need to see what we are talking about so went we take their toys and clothing to storage and rearrange their rooms to suit someone else they have an end goal in mind.  After that Lars is going daddy daughter girl scout bowling so Fiona and I are on our own for an exciting Friday night.

Lars is all sorts of optimistic, excited, ready to rock – I’m cycling through the anxiety and indecision because really we have done nothing.  The potential is exciting, the options are too.  I’m really happy that we should be able to sell our house for a price that will make the next step possible.  I’m excited that there seems to be a development and a builder that both get high marks but there is always that doubt about not looking at everything to be sure this is the right decision.  And around and around we go – and that isn’t even touching the packing part of the equation because that can’t really be on my list until I get something like a date!

And thus begins the saga of sell.bulid.move2017 – a process I hope will be contained in 2017 at least!

Leave a Reply

