Happy St Patricks day!

The day I’m confused about my culture more than normal because I’m not ‘allowed’ to do or like things NOT in my culture of birth but everyone can be Irish if they feel like it. I also don’t especially know if I’m all that Irish.  However, based on my research from my Irish cousins and FancyPaperBlog there is very little difference beyond some vocabulary from my life here and their lives there.  (except for the president… I can’t guess the current president of Ireland and I can only name one; Mary Robenson, and our presidents seem to get more international notoriety)  So I am Irish and so are you, unless you super identify with some other culture.

img_2160

American Irish, mixed with Pinterest and hallmark, creates a bit of a crazy little holiday focused on green and rainbows.  School lunch today was desirable so no cute lunches to pack but I did break out the special ‘rainbow’ cereal for snacks.  They left an entire beer * and some soda bread for our resident leprechaun, Mr McCabbage, who ate and drank it all, leaving a spill of gold wrapped chocolate for them to find.  The tricky guy also dyed the milk green and also poured some on the floor **

img_2165

Tonight we are having soda bread and soup, good for lent and all that.  When the kids asked why we didn’t celebrate more since this was ‘our’ holiday I gave them my dad’s answer that this is day to go to church in Ireland…

img_2153

Still like celebrating things that have no more sress then what you personally choose.  I celebrated by doing my part of the tax prep and taking a short nap all while looking like an Irish Ari flight attendant.

img_2164

*Lars thought someone loved him since that ‘door’ is right above his office so he drank it

**Lars also accidently spilled a dish of cereal and Niamh saw him cleaning it up and deduced that the tricky leprechaun had made a mess.

 

Edit – I googled the president of Ireland and he is also on twitter.  To support my Irish side, I’m following him now.  You also get to be president of Ireland for 7 years, thats a long time…

https://twitter.com/PresidentIRL?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Eauthor

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Happy St Patricks day!”

  1. fancypaperblog says :

    Ha😊love all this especially Mr McCabbage! We had a rainy trip to a parade which was a ton less fun than you guys had!

    Like

Leave a Reply

