Archive | March 15, 2017

Baby time – Party time

The friends that had a baby last week are fairly private about social media so I’m not posting any of the cutie pie pictures of him.  Just imagine a chubby cheek, fair skin, dark hair, semi-skeptical of the world baby and you get the idea.

What I can share are some of the sweet decorations we made for his baby shower.  The shower was a collaboration from the family and friends and we had it at a local community center.  Community centers are great, but, not all that easy to decorate.  I got put in charge of table wear, not the most exciting but still very necessary for a together looking party.

You want to know the easiest way to make a pretty party table?  10 clicks on Oriental Trading and I was done.  I was told the theme and colors and that was actually a relief because they had about a million options.  I’m happy to say that choosing blue for table cloths, napkins, plates, cake plates, cups, and utensils – despite being from different collections – they all matched. I ‘splurged’ on fancy fox table cloths for the buffet table and they matched the blue really well too.

 

img_1773

All my matching blues!  

img_1772

 

The woodland creature theme (that is also in the nursery) is an easy theme to follow, I could not resist these little guys, although I was supposed to only be on table wear, I was confident I could work them in.  It was hard to resist all the other cute charms and things on Oriental Trading but I was resolved to only buy things that I could actually use for the party.

Fullscreen capture 3152017 43620 PM.bmp

They nested nicely on the tables and in the center pieces of cut lavender and went home with the kids attending the shower (including mine).  I also used some 2d cardstock animals from another site that matched the banner etc.  Wall decor was not my department this time, but, I was happy to integrate the bits.  The lavender btw was grown by the parents of the dad so this is a very nice mix of mom side, dad side and friends.

img_1775

I also did a little finger print guest book – I talked about it as I was doing it but I’m happy with how it turned out.  Now that he is born I can add his actual name!  I’ve found that holding on to random largeish pieces of scrap book paper comes in super handy for sign making. Offcuts look official when you use pretty washi tape and have nice handwriting.

img_1777

The party itself was fun and the Mom to be was happy.  I think she is more happy now with him on the outside, enjoying the world.  I’m looking forward to seeing both my friends as parents and for the little guy to join in the fun.  Niamh has already declared herself as his babysitter in 3 years – no understatement, this kid is loved.

Oriental Trading has been awesome to work with and this post completes the batch of blogs in return for the product that we agreed upon, however, I would love to work with them again!

