Archive | March 14, 2017

Back again

That was a long vacation.  After 11 days off they are now back in school and it is just Fiona and I again in our normal Tuesday.

I actually spent quite a bit of time with just Fiona at the waterpark since Niamh and Zoe have passed the height mark that lets them do nearly everything and Lars is the parent that prefers the crazy slides, so Fiona and I kept to the tame things.  Niamh also was at the great personal level of being allowed to be solo in the park as long as we had a good idea of where she was.  Mental note for next time – buy inexpensive waterproof watches for all, meeting at certain times is very hard when there are no clocks.  Since only the inside was open, and, it was very not crowded we could usually find everyone easily enough but the outdoor section is 2x the inside so if we do this again in the summer electric leashes are needed.img_2087

img_2117

After the first day, Fiona tried a big raft ride (3 stories high) and LOVED it.  Even after the 50th time she was still a giant grin.  I risked my phone to take pictures on the way down.  There were 2 other similar ones she also loved as well as well as an entire ‘island’ of slides and play things intended just for people 100lb and less.  I made her go there a few times so I could have a little rest sitting on the side.  Since I thought I would be doing nothing but sitting and watching her paddle, this was a big surprise.

The resort itself was mostly well done.  I appreciated their efforts to make inside seem like outside because it is a long winter inside.  The hotel itself has plenty of open walkways that make you feel like you are walking ‘outside’.

 

img_2030

this is right outside our room, overlooking the lobby, completely inside.

 

The downside is that in the winter, there isn’t quite enough for more than 2 days and since we were there for 3 we ended up paying for the attached (but not included) amusement park.  Here is where Fiona got the worst end, she was too short for most of the fun stuff so we left her sisters and went on long pokiwalks and disrupted (not really) a conference of farmers learning about seeds and stuff (I assume, we didn’t actually attend).  We also had coffee and donuts by the fountain – the kalahari had very good sweet shops all over the lobby.

img_2072

We got back in town just in time for our friends to have their baby.  Since we were not part of the production, we just got to be around for the fun after part where you get to snuggle a teeeeeeny tiny baby and reassure the new parents that they are the best parents for this baby, and, they have the most experience with him because they have been with him for 9 months already.  I also got to run them down a nice dinner the next day and be on hand for the first at home diaper change – the thrills in my life never end 😉

I’m glossing over the annoying bits of the break like the fact that even if we are on vacation, I get woken up by 7am and often 1 or 2 times a night.  Travel went well overall but I always get home more tired than if I had just stayed home.  Time change weekend did not help at all because my normal 5 hours of sleep got shrunk to 4 and by the end of that day I was sick of it all and needed a break from it all.  The super power of motherhood is the ability to find a way through the day because I did make it all the way through that final day and today, there is semi-normal life.

 

ps.  In case you are new to my vacations – I go with a fellow mom and her son and sometimes we take Lars.  Two moms are better than one

pps. Possibly the best thing was the huge number of pokimon, I could even get a pokistop from bed!

ppss.  Happy pi day, I’m making some pie later I think but can’t not mark the date.