how is working out working out?

Since last June when the Y was opened locally, I had to re-do my fitness routine.  There were plenty of other wrenches in that machine too: summer is always crazy, kids needing different things, new school schedules, clients that I need to take care of etc.  I think I have found a decent balance and, at least right now, I’ve got a pretty good handle on things.

For my record to look back on, and, if you would like to know what a stay at home mom/freelancer does to not devolve into a pile of fat here are some notes/thoughts

  • FitBit.  I have worn it for a year (and gone through 3, but, they replaced under warranty so I’m not too mad).  I like the tracker, it tells me many cool stats even if it won’t acknowledge some workout classes as ‘workouts’ but the added interaction with a few friends in groups, and, challenges to myself to meet the goals has helped.  I average over 50k steps a week these days
  • Kids.  So kids at home definitely HELP my step count because I’m going going going. With 3 in school 3 days a week I notice the days I need to motivate myself to not just sit at the computer.  Warning to office workers!  you probably don’t move around enough.  I know if I do a sit and work day I hardly get 2k steps and that is mostly before and after work time doing stuff with the kids.
  • Classes.  In Shoreview I didn’t do classes because I didn’t want to rush to get there on time, they were an extra fee, and, they didn’t assure child care so I just contented myself with ‘doing my own thing’ and that was a good start.  I got confidence on heavy squats and on the machines etc. BUT classes are way better.  They push me to work longer, harder and different.  When the Y opened and included classes (although the price of the Y reflects that!) I wanted to make sure I got my money worth and actually went to a class a week.  I’m up to 2 regular classes and I try to get in a 3rd.
  • ‘Date’ night.  At Shoreview, Lars seldom went with me and usually only went with the kids swimming.  He could also use more exercise in his life so we started picking a class *together* one night a week.  Finding something we both like and can do/is challenged by is not easy but right now we are doing an ab class on Thursday nights.  It is something we do together and working out with another person always makes it better (and you are less likely to blow it off).  Lars also found another evening class he likes and I plan on joining it too once swim lessons are over because the timing just won’t work right now.
  • Swim lessons. Speaking of those lessons, I still say that Lars teaching the girls was way better but Fiona needed a jump start and Niamh and Zoe needed some refining so we sprung for lessons this season.  The hidden benefit is that 2x a week I am at the Y for an extra time and I can use that time well by working out.  I do want to watch them learn so my options are more limited, but, I’ve found that there is a spin bike right at the window so I get a great view of classes and earn a few thousand steps.
  • Older kids.  I’ve had an elliptical for at least 10 years now and some years it is more like a towel rack but in the past 2, I’ve gotten good at setting them up for dinner, or, after dinner with a show and getting a solid 45min on days I don’t get to the gym.  I like that I can leave them for a bit and I don’t (usually) have constant interruptions.

I think the key for me is accountability.  Between the Fitbit and the company in classes, I do better.  Classes push me to go longer too.  The only real negatives right now are things I’m not sure how to solve;  I have sold many hours a week to work, I also feel I need to clean since I’m home and between the two sometimes the workout gets skipped.  I know that I’m the only one that cares if the house is clean but that is just something I can’t ever win on because I feel guilty for not doing the thing I’m not doing…

After all this I don’t think I’ve lost a pound, but, I do feel fitter and I am certainly stronger.  No troubles carrying even my biggest girl.  I think I’m also setting a decent example because I’ve heard all three parrot that we need to work out to be healthy and live a long time.

img_1891

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “how is working out working out?”

  1. fancypaperblog says :

    Fair play with the fitness! We have started swim lessons for our little ones.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Joe Johnson says :

    Way to go! It’s a struggle to find the time no matter what you do, but I am really digging the date night idea! I think I will try to talk Katie into that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

