National Rubber Duck Day is tomorrow

1-day warning!

Oriental Trading is known for many things, but, for me, there will ALWAYS be rubber ducks.  When Niamh was a little little girl and I had night classes a friend watched her, to ‘pay’ I sent a duck with Niamh every week to give to her daughter who was 2.5 and not into sharing her mom.  That started my duck collection because I couldn’t just send the same duck each week, I needed variety!

08-10-oct_2

my 2008 attempt at ‘stitching’ a picture.  To make up for it, below is a picture of baby Niamh in that bumbo.

first waffle 10/18

“I can’t sit up, but, in a bumbo I can!”

Then I had friends with kids with allergies and I learned that there are more options than candy on Halloween.  I got ‘spooky’ ducks and they went first, everyone wanted a duck more than candy.

nov-7

we had candy left over…

When I found out there was actually a HOLIDAY for rubber ducks I could not let it pass.  Oriental Trading partners with bloggers and I’m lucky enough to be one of them and they gave me ducks in return for this post.  (fair trade, I’ve already given them tons of money for ducks).

img_0373

that baby has eyes only for ducks

img_1944

I decided that for duck day, I would share the love of ducks.  I ordered 11 dozen ducks with the goal to give them all away.  Ok, I’m keeping some, there are some cute ones.  So I’m giving away 10 dozen ducks!  This is easier said than done and it is going to take a while but since I got them last Friday;

Sunday we went to the MN Science museum and I handed out ducks to any kid I saw being nice.  I also sent the kids out to hand out ducks too, nice lesson in random kindness.

img_1731

see that little unicorn duck on the top right of the earthquake table? #ducktheworld

Tuesday I saw an acquaintance in the grocery store, I handed him a duck and while I said it was for his baby, you know who is going to be playing with that duck.

Yesterday and today I didn’t actually leave the house much other than the gym so operation #ducktheworld was on hold and since tomorrow is the day I thought I should get this posted so if you feel so inclined to celebrate tomorrow, you have adequate warning.

My pocketbook is stocked with ducks and my plan is to give them away to good kids (or sad kids).  I like to reward good behavior and now I have stock to do so.

If you have any cool rubber ducks, post them tomorrow #ducktheworld and I’ll be joining you too.  If you don’t think you need any, consider adding them to your holiday table or basically any occasion since there is a duck for just about everything.

Edit to add- I just got an awesome direct link to some coupons.  Enjoy!

img_1103

The ducks were our place cards, I think they add a festive flair.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

