Aloha time

We made it!img_1310

In my opinion, the key to travel is to absolutely ignore the things that could go wrong and focus only on the reality you want.  I refused to acknowledge the possibility of a snow storm or ice or delays or lost luggage and things worked!

We got a limo (just what you get when you have 5 people but it feels fancy) at 4:30.  It was also key to get into a warm car because I made everyone leave coats at home.

img_1295

I did my best to plan for things and we had a nice pile of food and snacks, I even went for lunchables for the kids because they have been wanting them for ages so that makes them ‘special’, and more importantly to me, they are reasonably crush proof so they were intact after hours of travel.  The three planes and the three airports each had things to nitpick, but, overall it was worth it to get here.

Plane #1 was just fine and our layover was just long enough for a walk, a coffee, and a bit of a charge.

Plane #2 was the looooong one but I kept telling the kids it would be 8 hours but it was actually only 6 so that was a nice surprise.  We kept decent entertainment levels and constant snacks and things were pretty good.  Some of the surrounding people were not my first choice, but hey, that means we looked better in comparison.

Plane #3 was so short that the stewardess practically tossed juice to everyone from the back of the plane and then collected the cups and then we landed.

img_1301

why couldn’t this have been on the long flight?

 

My sister met us with the super pretty flower and we stumbled to her house and went to bed on a flat, non moving surface.

img_1302

my midnight after waking up at 4am!

 

The fitbit was very confused, I somehow managed to get 10k steps but my day was an extra 4 hours long and I started at 4am.  However, Fitbit could not figure out what to do when I synced so I had two Thursdays for a while.  I just need it to tell time in general so my steps will sort themselves out some how.

Today was more or less paperwork day.  We needed passes for the base, we planned out the big outings for the trip and got advance tickets to secure reservations and prices.  We visited a different base on the island for a drink and a view of the island and the harbor from the high ground.  The view from the grocery store was pretty good too, almost everywhere is either something pretty or something interesting.  I love the variety of things here.  My sister lives in a historic home in a historic neighborhood and the base is full of architecture from every era, but, in some ways time stopped here 75 years ago (once they cleaned up the mess that is).

img_1304

grocery store view.  Not half bad

 

We got out and about a little bit but not a lot.  Just the ability for the kids to play and us to eat dinner outside is a novelty.

A friend said once that visiting family isn’t a vacation, it is a trip.  People imagine Hawaii like a luxury hotel or on a cruise or even on a massive cram it in sight seeing extravaganza BUT I am living life with my sisters family and it will include doing fun things, and, the best is that we are all in it together for the next 2 weeks.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

