Good intentions in the mail

When I was younger I remember friends moms spending weeks doing Christmas cards.  They would seldom be hand making them (but I do remember some doing that) but they would be writing personal, long, notes to everyone on a very very long list.  Hundreds!  Maybe this is inflated by memory, but, I am backed up by tv shows of the era.

Then there was an era of long braggy letters, I recall this in my teens…  The evolution of wanting to say all the things to all the people without handwriting it.  This seems to be short lived since pretty fast it became the thing of sitcom jokes.

When I first got married it seemed pictures cards became the norm and that is something I can get behind.  But the trend also included sending cards for way more holidays?  Maybe that was just my friends…  This was all pre Facebook being big

The trend I’m noticing now, post facebook, is people just not doing cards.  The original reason to ‘touch base’ with all your far-flung friends is now moot because you can do that daily for free on Facebook.  The long (personal or group) letters are also moot because as each thing comes up you post and those who care are happy and those that don’t ignore it, and those that hate it eventually block you but at least you didn’t waste a card and a stamp to tell them your baby now eats solid foods and can roll over.

Personally, I made the decision a few years ago to cut down my list but I still do them because the people I send them to I know appreciate them.  I love getting picture cards so that is what I send.  *I also save every picture card I ever get* My list also includes people that are not on facebook, but, my list is now only people I know and care about and not a giant list of all the people ever.  Based on my facebook, I know how people used to have 300 person lists if they cared to keep in touch (and I do, always have, always will).

I, like many others, still don’t have time to add a personal note to all of them even though I want to.  Today in the post office, as I stamped each one, I made a wish for each person.  I wrote them a note in my head.  So no, they won’t literally read it, but I hope that the intention reaches them.

To you dear readers, of whom there are apparently over 1000, I don’t have your addresses but I wish you all well too.

img_1289

 

ps. yes, I send at least one Jewish friend a Christmas card.  I don’t think they personally care, plus, Jesus was Jewish.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

