Don’t fall for Drugs

img_1187

Last night after I finished up here I got a phone call telling me that Niamh won a competition in school for her grade.  It was for an anti-drug poster and I’m really glad she won, not just because winning is cool, but she has asked me at semi-regular intervals since LAST YEAR why she didn’t win last year and daily since she turned in her poster this year.  She did a good one but I’m torn because it was not exactly original because she got the idea from Pinterest.  On the other hand, I like the use of research tools, and, interpreting the picture on the screen into real life.  It was a real project, she got leaves from the yard as templates and then cut them out of construction paper. She wanted me to draw the tree and I did but I declined to help more.  It came out about how you would expect an artistic 3rd grade project to be.  Maybe now she will get a little more confidence in her art.

I am also glad she won because Zoe has been raking in the rewards from school this week.  My thought is that 1st grade just gives them out more than 3rd, and, Zoe may be an ‘example’ kid in her class.  (I think she saves her crazy for home) because she said she got one today for being the only kid doing what the teacher asked.  Honestly, I would like a little more of that good listening at home and a few less kudos from her teacher, but, she actually is good at just getting things done.  Regardless, Niamh was feeling left behind and not good enough but this came at just the right time.

It also happened that I was able to go to school to see her get the award.  I remind myself I choose to stay home so I could be there for my kids.  They don’t need a super clean kitchen, my contract work is flexible on timing, and if I can I should so I did!  She was double happy to see me AND I was able to get tons of good pictures of all the kids to post on the PTA facebook site.

Today I started the list of what to do before we leave.  I combined culling out the summer clothing, because winter is really here, with pre-packing for the trip and I’m done with 2:5.  If I keep this up I’ll be mostly packed over a week early, that is a new record for me.  There are also a few lingering things like bikes that need to be really put away but fall is seriously the best biking weather.  I think the list is do-able, just need to keep doing.

 

And with that, I’m off to do more.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

