Why is NaBloPo in November?

You know, I look forward to the challenge of blogging every day for a month.  I know, I could do this any month or every month but the community of doing this together is part of the fun.  I know the original concept was to write a novel of 10,000 words in the month of November and I think that might be either a ‘get it done before the year end’ for last minute publishing dollars, or, ‘I have no family so lets do something else’… Either way, 10k words or every day posts with basically a WEEK of real life in the middle is asking for trouble~

I’ve done it every year, but, every year are days with almost nothing or just a picture.  My computer is far away from the family center (on purpose) but when my kids are home and parents are visiting I’m just not creating time to run away and post.  I actually have posts in my head that I planned on doing this month but I think they will wait, or, they weren’t that important in the end. 🙂

So Thanksgiving!  Parents were here for a week, kids were home, we went out a few times and stayed home and visited a bunch.  We did the normal things like games and puzzles and watched some John Oliver highlights.  I can’t exactly take a week ‘off’ but the load was shared among more for a week.  Grandparents love to hear kids read (or at least its novel and they are willing) and every time I turned around my Dad was tidying or making tea, making it way easier around the house.  He also did a minor project that he had an idea about using a real tool and not just the saws-all that I had planned.  Mom re-taught the girls knitting for the 5th time and she knows that it takes about 10x so she is half way there.  Cooking was a joint effort and while it was not a giant fancy crazy vacation week it was a nice and happy and home vacation week.

On the other hand….  while I did pre-do 95% of my paid work, I had a big pile of things to sort through today, and, more for tomorrow.  Today I skipped the gym but I did 7 loads of laundry, took down all the thanksgiving and started putting up a bit of Christmas.  Washed all the dishes, did all the baking, wrote a press release for Turkey Bingo as well as edit and post a ton of pictures from the event.  I also got in a good walk with Fiona and we got two Magikarp, and tonight before I sat down here, I did 45min on the elliptical and rounded out my 10k steps for the day.  Not too shabby a start on the list.

Speaking of ‘the list’ the next countdown in my world is not to Christmas but to our trip to Hawaii!  In 16 days we leave so that is not a lot of time to get quite a bit done.  I’m toying with the idea of not doing all the decorations this year, but, I do need to get on the ball about shopping and some crafting etc.  Same with Christmas cards and teacher gifts, my timeline is pulled up a week at least.  I’m sure the trip will be worth it, I’ll swim in the ocean on my birthday (a once in a lifetime event) and be ready for a Christmas on the beach picture in 26 days.

To anyone who found me during NaBloPoMo, I don’t usually post daily but I do post often so I hope you don’t leave.  I hit 1000 followers this month, something I intended to post about but obviously did not.  That is a pretty big number and I’m sure not everyone actually reads often at all, but, I hope you that do feel you are getting your monies worth.

It is time for me to wrap this up and expedite bed time and then back to the list.  That laundry won’t fold itself and I have 1 season of Gilmore Girls to finish before I can watch the new movies. (ps. saving the movies for Hawaii with my sister, can’t wait!)

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

