Monday Musing

Status

Health; 50% of us have colds.  I am in that 50%

Workout; keeping a decent rate, don’t know what I’ll be up for today though but coughing should count as an ab workout.

Cat; I get requests… yes, Mr Pink is still here, still very cat.

Projects; I’m transforming Halloween costumes into real things 🙂

 

My post yesterday was a dashed off line I ran downstairs to do between dinner, kids bed, and having people over for a group game we are playing weekly on Sunday.  The day in general was perfect weather and I can’t help but feel that I’m losing half the space in my life very very soon because we won’t be able to be outside anymore.  We finished the gardens; took in any lingering veggies and our massive kale crop and the kids picked and sorted all the herbs.  The house smelled really good with a pound of mint, lavender, lemon balm, basil etc sitting on the table.  We have snow forecast for this coming weekend and I’m glad I got so much done yesterday, and, I’m glad to have spent one more good day outside.

  • I finally have the garage empty and ready for car(s)
  • The gutters are now clean – since our lawn guy was coming today, yesterday was the best day to clean them since I could just throw it all on the grass and he was going to clean it anyway.
  • All the outside toys and playhouse are packed away or ready for snow

I would have been content to keep churning through the chores but Zoe really really really wanted to ride her bike to the Y that is 2mi away.  She has been wanting this for weeks and I told her that it would have to be a day that both parents were able to go because Fiona can’t ride a bike that far so she and I would take the car.  (I also thought they might be too tired to get home again so I wanted a bail out option).  We went to the Y and she not only rode there, she did it at a decent pace and with no fussing AND she wanted to ride home again too.  While we were at the Y I did a workout and then we all did the pool and Zoe was swimming laps with Niamh when I got there.  When we got home I told them to run around the block so they can claim a triathlon day, and so they did.  In my workout I rode the bike and ran, and, I also swam so I had a triathlon day too 🙂

Saturday we actually ended up with an odd day.  We had plans for the day that got changed last minute so we but we figured something out.  The evening plans were thrown together on a whim on Friday and it actually worked out that we had someone to watch the girls (thank you vacation mom!) and friends were free and the Escape Room Groupon we got last year had an available slot for Saturday night so we did that.  It was really fun and we had a great group to do the puzzles.  We finished in 50 minutes and that puts us in the top 10% and we only needed one clue.  We technically didn’t need that clue because we were in the middle of checking our work and would have found our error, but, it did save us a few minutes.  I spend all night dreaming of puzzle room scenarios that would be fun to build, I think I need to send in a few of them to the place just so I get the brain space back!

Today is a ‘regular’ Monday and I’ve done my client work and next on my list is to dig out all the snow pants and real coats to see who fits and who needs.  I also plan on taking a rest, this cold is creeping in and my weekend was fun but not restful.

Oh!  I also still need to plant bulbs.  I decided to wait until someone else found the garden under the leaves to do the planting 🙂  Hopefully there are a few days lefts…

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

