Again, what day is it?

Yesterday we had our first kid sleepover here that counted.  By count I mean it was not for babysitting reason, it was not a family member, and, no additional adults were here.  I know it sounds silly to fret over the 1 single extra child when 3 weeks ago we had 7 extra kids in the house, but, this was a school friend.  I don’t know the parents and I remembered as we were getting in the car from picking her up to ask about allergies but I suppose we are both just generally laid back parents because she didn’t ask any of the crazy questions I’ve seen listed on “Are they ready for a sleepover, and, are you aware of all the things that can go wrong?” articles (I should probably not read those…)  and I didn’t offer any answers in advance.

However, that really was not the point… point was when I posted on facebook that they were all giggles the first replay was “on a Thursday night?”.  You know, I had almost no idea what day of the week it was.  My days and nights are now just ordered by activities and yesterday was a ‘free evening’ for the kids and I  (Lars had guys night out).  So yes, once again, I have no idea what day it is.

The sleepover was a big success.  We kept it simple with a 5:30 start and her mom collected her about 10am.  A little time outside where they did the leaf pile thing (fall bucket list!) and then dinner and a game and stayed up ‘late’ with a movie and the entire bag of cheese doodles (that was only 1/4 full but getting the BAG is a big deal here).  I think the friend had a good time too, she was all smiles.  They went to sleep no issues and I don’t even think they are too short on sleep today.img_0629

Today we filled in the gaps of the day with a few events and right now I have my mothers helper here so I can get some work done.  Originally she was supposed to come on Wednsday, day 1 of this break, but we rescheduled for today because I had a feeling I would be in need of the help more today.  I had vague hope of getting all sorts of house projects done but instead we did more of the fall fun things.

img_0614

We did our annual trip to our favorite pumpkin farm, and, as usual, the pictures are locked on my good camera.  We rode bikes to the park and had lazy breakfasts and epic games of My Little Pony that cover an acre of space.  I enticed them into shopping by promising them halloween shirts and little did I know that they just really don’t sell them in their size.  There are a few ‘boy’ ones (and by boy I mean gross) and plenty of adult ones…. Maybe my kids are odd to want halloween shirts because there can’t just be this big a market miss.  I ended up buying plain shirts and getting creative with some lace so now we have shirts that should work for a year or two.  img_0640

This weekend we have a variety of halloween activities on the menu and just one week before the real event.   I need to get going on the final touches on costumes~

Ok I must get on to other things while I have someone entertaining the kids.

 

ps.  If you are wondering the scary things I’ve read/been warned by police speakers about sleepovers;

  • Older brothers
  • Do the parents drink or smoke?
  • Are there guns in the house?
  • what TV might they watch?
  • how much supervision?

These are mostly just questions that you have your level of comfort and you assume the other parents are on the same page, but, you really don’t know what their level is.  The older brother thing is the #1, the local police say that 90% of the s@x offenders list is from things that happened between a boy and his younger sisters friends. …   For the record, no boys in the house, no smoking, 1 beer max (could drive to the hospital if needed), no guns, TV all Pg or G and medium supervision/I can hear what they are doing if not see.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

