16 kids in my house!

This past weekend we had an important local event that drew friends from all over.  The best part about a local event is that we get the opportunity to have houseguests and this time we went one step further and did a dinner party at a local restaurant post event where the kids were all left at my house.  All 17 kids….

It started smaller, at first the teen daughter of the family staying with us volunteered to babysit her siblings and my three so we could go out.  That grew to include another family with 4 kids and then another and you see where this is going.  Fortunately, all the additional kids were 8 or older so not too much of a babysitting issue, and, of the 16 three were ‘responsible teens’ for the supervision side of the equation.  They also all know eachother so that helped too.

img_0426

watching ramen cook…

What also helped was 8 pizzas and 10 packs of ramen. And Netflix and by a turn of fortune, a cool little craft.

The craft is courtesy of Oriental Trading who contacted me two weeks ago to offer me store credit in return for a post (and here is that post!).  My love of oriental trading is well documented, just look at my puppy party, but don’t worry – my views are my own and that is what you get here!

When I got my store credit, I felt like a kid in a candy store.  Literally… I actually got candy because who can resist eyeball candy?  I also got bendy skeletons and both are safely hidden for Halloween night treats for the trick or treat kids.  (I’ll let you know who wins this year; candy or toy).  I also got what I thought was a single foam Halloween house but in what turns out to be a trend in me not reading the fine print, it was 12 sets of Halloween houses.  That was a happy accident for me because of the incoming hoard of children!

So, we left the kids, the pizza, and the house kits and took our 25 person party off to Stella’s on 97.  When we got back 3 hours later there was no pizza, no ramen and unfortunately no houses… on the positive all the kids supposed to be asleep were.

img_0432

please note the glue bottle and stick in the pile

This apparent tornado zone was initially blamed on kids just being tired after a long day but then we reviewed the directions and saw that you need glue to make it work.  I thought these were sticky pieces like other kits I’ve gotten, but, they do actually say it needs glue (sold separately) however in my excitement I just didn’t read that bit.  To their credit, the kids did find glue and had made some progress but the littlest kids (under 5) lost interest.

img_0434

I’m glad I am able to end this with a positive, the next morning Niamh went directly to the pile of parts and she and her glue and her relative peace of only 6 other kids in the house produced this picture perfect specimen.  Zoe finished hers later in the day.img_0476

Moral of the story is I was right that my kids would like this craft, it definitely needs some concentration and mastery of glue.  It would have been much easier if they were peel n stick but they did manage in the end.

The other goodies I got from Oriental Trading will pop up in posts over the next month including some leggings I got for their costumes from the costume center but I wanted to get this one up in case YOU want to order before Halloween.  Put aside about 3 hours to jump down the rabbit hole of great ideas and fun projects, and, read the fine print…

ps.  I was very tempted to get this because Zoe has been begging for a dog but I decided it was a tad too morbid for a 6 year old.

pps.  Our house party grew and we crushed our sleepover record.  We had our 5, another family of 5, 2 more teens, another couple and we had to actually look and make sure anther guy was not crashed under a table because nobody was sure if he left or not.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “16 kids in my house!”

  1. Becky says :

    Thank you for hosting! Sophia had a great time.

    Like

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Thank you for Stickers | Katy Stuff - November 10, 2016

Leave a Reply

