Halloween is in the house

Yesterday we exploded the Halloween boxes.  I don’t know how many other families had to step over a pile of skulls to get to the breakfast things but I know I did.

Now that the boxes are breached I can get to the art of decorating, but, the real meat of Halloween is the costumes.

Niamh has been pushing to be Tiana from the frog prince and I just didn’t want to get into a. the culture and skin issues because that is just too hot a thing right now

b. that dress is no easy costume, it is a giant awesome dress but not a ton of work

c. the movie is about 10 years old

d. I kinda like them to have a theme if possible and that can’t work with Tiana unless I wanted to make 3 giant crazy princess dresses (and I don’t)

 

In reflecting on what is fun for us this year Pokemon Go has been the new ‘it’ thing.  It’s a fun little game you don’t have to spend much time on but it does give a good reason for a walk.  I already played ingress so I know the local spots but I am constantly amused by the little beasties.  I can imagine the design team for this just being given a ton of candy and no sleep and told to ‘be creative’.  So, I told Niamh she could be Tiana but I was going to be a Pikachu.  Fiona, who is still in my mind control for some things, wanted to be a Polliwog and Zoe instantly and passionately wanted to be a Dedenne (we don’t even have one of those?  No idea how she knows about it.)  That sold it, Niamh now wanted to be a poki too and she chose a Flarion.

Now to the fun part – costume design and creation.  Given that none of these are human that does make decision 1 an important first step;

  1. make a costume that looks as much like the animal as possible including mask and extra legs like the Lion King or
  2. take the important elements of the character and make an outfit of it.

I like option 2 because I usually end up with elements we can keep using in the year.  The dress from rainbow dash has actually stayed in our winter wardrobe for 2 more kids.

img_0350-0

 

Here are my sketches for the costumes.  I’m thinking tunic style dresses with leggings and each head piece will be a bit different.  They all also have tails… I’ll be working on ways for making that happen without putting a hole in the dress.  For the two with more poof to their charactes I’ll be adding toule skirts, they are so easy to make and are good additions to the dress up bin after.  I ordered leggings and I hope the colors are right because dyeing fabric is not really my favorite thing to do.  We got lucky and found all the right colors and fabrics for the costumes already and once our weekend house guests depart this weekend out comes the sewing machine.

Speaking of house guests…. I have a guest room to reclaim so that is next on the agenda!

 

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

