Fall fun

Status

Weather – awesome, this is why we live here

School – everyone still likes it

Cat – getting a check up next week

Workouts – need to get better, I’m hopeful

Schedule – full throttle already

 

I don’t know how long it will take me to get used to my new schedule but right now I’m filling every moment with things that have been patiently waiting their turn forever.  I estimate I have a year worth of projects in and around the house and that isn’t even counting walls I want to paint or demo (or both!).  This week the focus was on getting some of the computer things done so all day today and most of Monday I plugged away at reports and writeups and reviews and research and I think most of Friday I’ll be here too.  I did at least book tickets to Hawaii to see my sister, that only took me 6 months to actually do.  I also got all my Pennsic task list done so that is in the books.

On the flip side, now that I have some day time, I actually have more time for the kids when they get home.  This is augmented by the new awesome homework policy (that is NO HOMEWORK!) so over the past few afternoons, we have tackled the bike situation.  Niamh was so dependent on her training wheels that she was actually bending the frame of her bike because she was torquing it so oddly riding sideways.  We should have made this happen years ago but she was not overly interested in biking and we always just had other things to do.  I just took them away.  I also lowered her seat and told her to pretend it was a sit on scooter so she could just learn how to balance.  I also figured that I should not make the same mistake twice so I also took away Zoe’s training wheels and told her the same thing.  Both actually got into it and since we live on a road with a slight hill it was easy enough to get the balance trick.

The only problem with ignoring petals is that they don’t go away.  I know there are fancy balance bikes but I was not investing anything but time in this project.  So, because of frequent whacks with the petals to the shins, both girls choose to put their feet on them.  What do you know, 2 days of half an hour or so of walking with them and they got it.  Niamh is mad Zoe did it, but, Niamh is actually getting better 10x faster and Zoe is about where a 6-year-old should be.  She needs to learn about breaks, not just going up on a lawn but on the plus side, all those years of jujitsu falling down is not a big deal for her.

I remember bikes being a giant part of my childhood and I hope they have the same positive experience too.  I’m also glad that I could teach them something that didn’t come naturally to either one…  Zoe asked today if we could ride bikes this afternoon and I’m happy to say yes and I’m happy that she asked.

img_0197

Oh, and this maniac on 3 wheels is now teasing them both that she can ride circles around them.  She can actually, for now, but not for long!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

