Hello September!

Status

home – everyone!  for the next 45min.  School schedules rolling

health – I crashed with a sick day Monday, not what I needed for getting things done but probably what I needed in general.

bathwater – still surprising muddy, 1st grade homework is ‘play outside’

beard – Lars noted today it is his beards first birthday.  A dubious milestone but I’m pretty used to it now.

projects – The list is ever growing but got one done today and a big one (room swap) underway.

 

I find myself in another limbo week.  We had a nice weekend and Labor Day – not what I planned but good in general.  I kinda lost Monday to extreme sleep needs so good thing Lars had the day off.  All my lack of sleep plus some germs just finally got me and I’m not 100% but I’m ok.  Any week that ‘seals’ my Monday is going to be odd but one where we have the major schedule change from summer to school is double special with sauce. The bigger kids were very happy/nervous/happy to get back to school.  Tuesday I brought them and saw them all safely to their rooms and went to a MOMs club brunch and then tried to get a handle on the house.  Fiona was pretty happy to have my undivided attention back and required me nonstop.  I tell myself I should soak it up, not going to be how life is forever and I’ll miss the snuggles I’m sure.

My usual get things done Wednesday was productive in a different way because Fiona was still front and center.  I also had my first carpool today!  That worked nicely, however, my curse got me again…  I have a curse that I can’t go to their school just 1x.  I have to go 2x.  Yesterday I dropped off and picked up so fulfilled my 2 but today I got home, triumphant after very good carpool, and saw the class snack sitting by the door so back I went to drop off snack.  The curse.  Anyway, still had plenty of time to work on one of my 65 pending projects and even got one done.  There was not much time for computer work but I got through the pressing things, bribing her with kindle time.  After many books and rounds of uno I got a bit of progress on room swap part 1 (get room clean) and then the children were delivered to our house like magic!  The magic of carpool.

Looking at the rest of the week there is a pile to get done that can’t be put off until next week when I’ll have some actual time to focus on something.  It has been sooooo long since I had a day where I didn’t have 1-3 kids 24 hours a day.  I’ve had a few hour breaks, I’ve had some help, but there is nothing like a stretch of hours where I know they are happy and safe and I can get other things done.

Now I need to go make some breakfast muffins, answer a million questions, possibly go to the store, feed Fiona, and I’m sure I’m forgetting something.  Still better than being bored!

Leave a Reply

