Weekend of work

Poor blog, nobody posts on you!

 

For the second week in a row Lars is out of town and in contrast to last week where I felt like the crazy hub of social activity this weekend we are crazy solo.  All little outings fell through and kids were behaving like it was a full moon (it was) and they had spent an exhausting fun week at camp.  Solo parenting is for the birds (although based on my nesting robins, those chicks keep 2 parents busy in their species too).

In the win column – I have major amounts of garb produced.  Thanks to mom who is quietly producing in NY to supplement efforts here, I think I can put away the sewing tomorrow.  I also have one solid box packed and some bits and pieces getting pulled to a gather point for packing in the near term.

We also did a fair job cleaning up.  When they start fighting I say I need to micromanage and we clean.  Sometimes the mess just moves but it’s almost cute to hear Zoe cut me off mid-word to parrot “do it right or do it twice”.   I also seem to have a relaxation issue when Lars is gone.  Two nights straight I got them to bed with reasonable ease, that at least is not a current issue, and instead of vegging out I power clean.  Last night I seriously intended to just do 10min and then go to bed and there was mud by the door from feet and 30 min later I had the floor cleaned and dry using a washcloth and dish towel since I only was going to do “that spot” but then there was “another spot”.

Today is starting better.  It is not raining, it is not 90 degrees and they let me sleep until 7:30.  And hey, the kitchen is clean, so that always helps the day start nicely.

Ps.  output in the past few days;

2 tunics for Lars, 1 over tunic, skirt and choli for me, 2 kid cholis, 5 kid skirts, a hat, 3 hoods, a chemise, various mending points, and 3 kids that are still alive.

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Weekend of work”

  1. fancypaperblog says :

    That’s pretty exhausting. I can relate somewhat. Yesterday I ‘hoovered’ three rooms with a dustpan and brush because I was ‘only doing that one spot’😕😆!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

