Summer camp!

Status – kids in the house

kids in the house; 0!!!!!

bathwater; too soon to know

WIP (work in progress); 6 chicken pies ready for oven, one tunic getting handwork, 2 hoods to be finished

Production; not much done yet…

Weird new issue; our tree kinda fell down?  windstorm on Sat night

 

Today is the first day of the 1 week of ‘real’ summer camp for the girls.  I have so many plans of things to do it would be impossible to actually get them all done in a week but the possibilities are endless!  I’m not sure if this is a vacation for me or not.  I’m not doing what I normally do – run in do-loops of kids, clean, cook, drive, etc.  However, I’m not planning much relaxing time either….

While running errands this morning (new faucet to finally fix the sink, groceries, post office) I was thinking how much I am not sad they were not with me.  It isn’t that I don’t miss them, I keep expecting them around every corner!  I hear phantom talking, but, I’m not ‘missing’ them really.  I’m wondering how they are doing – Fiona has only ever been away from me this long 1 day a week in an environment she is 100% secure of.  Today she held her sisters hands and got on a bus and left.  The nightmare scenario is that she hates it and won’t go back but I’m hopeful that won’t happen.

Niamh is very excited because she has read about camp.  My vague worry for her is that it won’t live up to the idea in her head.  She happily gathered her things for the day and was in the car 5 min early just waiting on everyone else.

Zoe says she is getting camped out.  We went camping as a family last weekend, she went camping this weekend, and now she is on a bus to another camp.  She also was skeptical of where she might be in the camp; will she be alone? with Fiona? with Niamh?  I did not have any answers for her but she is getting a lot of practice at packing her bag.  Zoe also said she missed school the other day, she misses knowing what the flow of the day is and the constant activity.  I feel like we have constant activity but not enough is Zoe-centric I guess.

This weekend was semi-crazy.  Lars was gone for the majority so we had an impromptu sewing party with all possible surfaces covered in sewing.  Today I dig out of that, put it back in order, so I can get right back into sewing tomorrow.  Today I decided was the day to get things in order so I can work on things all the other days and so far so good.

 

Ok, I have a list longer than my arm to get moving on – think good thoughts about kids loving camp so 7am tomorrow is about getting ready not tears and bribes.

One response to “Summer camp!”

  1. fancypaperblog says :

    Try give yourself an hour for you too! Sounds like summer going very well though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

