May the odds

Status

Nap – well, I tried, she preferred to clean?

moods – better today, can’t get much worse

laundry – all clean, 75% folded

Garb production – today zero and need to start counting

Bathwater – will be clean, only a little outside in our own grassy lawn plus they plan on swimming with dad.

Pokemons – have 6 from running around yesterday, 0 so far today

 

Today was the day…. put it away or throw it away.  I told them that by the end of the day their room would be clean, either they helped and things would go well and we would swap to the next size clothing and there would be ice cream treats and possibly shopping to fill in the wardrobe gaps.  OR. There would be me cleaning with the assistance of a very large trash bag.

Sanity prevailed and the room is clean.  The wardrobes swapped. Things thought long-lost were found.  I even think the process of cleaning actually maybe sunk in for Niamh.  Zoe did some and then decided that keeping Fiona out of the process was the better move.  In reality, it probably was.  There were some tense times around lunch but I’m thinking that was food related.

That was actually 2 things from my bucket list for the summer done!  There is still the question of moving rooms but having a clean state to start from will not hurt the process at all.  Swapping rooms include getting a bed and mattress and lugging furniture up and down the stairs.  Might it happen?  It will happen someday but who knows when, not that I’ve found the floor and all the corners I’m pushing the swap to the bottom of the list.

 

Isn’t that an exciting way to spend a lovely day?  I know, summer is for play but we are actually running low on days.  Next week they are in camp all week (freeeeddddoooommmm!) and the following will be dominated by packing and getting ready to go east.  We needed the no rush, no go, no worries day anyway.  Tomorrow I need to do some shopping, Thursday meal prep for another camping weekend (that I’m not attending even). Friday is ‘normal’ but the evening will have people going in various directions for the weekend.  Saturday we have a date with a man about a bow because Niamh has earned the privilege of her own kit.  Sunday has nothing yet, we will see about that then, I’m sure something will pop up other than fetching Zoe from camp.

In all seriousness I had to ask Lars what day today was, long days, long nights even if the summer is flying by.  Tonight I earned my Mom’s night out and what’s more, I disserve it for decent mom-ing today.

 

Leave a Reply

