Park time!

Status

nap – why do I even try?

Bathwater – oh so much dirt also mixed with tire filth because what is more fun than playing with the tire mulch on the playground.

workouts – took today off but managed something every day last week.

beard – thanks for asking! After a brief chin appearance last month it is back .

cat – also for a concerned reader – cat is doing ok, he might just last the summer.  Kidneys are on the way out so we can go 1 special bag of food at a time. 

 

Our stated goal for Mondays this summer are to try and get to 2 parks a day.  This works pretty well for keeping all the kids happy and not so bad for my normal Monday laundry effort.  Laundry is an all day thing anyway with putting in a new load every 1.5h (I do an extra rinse cycle) so I put in a load before I go, another when I get back.

 

Today we had a little surprise at Goodview park.  Seems like in the year since we went last they added a skate park!  We tried to avoid it for a little while but when friends with dare devil kids arrived there was no stopping them.    The park had nice paved bike trails so we had scooters and trikes in the car, and helmets, and they wanted to stay alllll day.  We are now naming this park Trick-Park.  We had a 1 year old toddling around and a 12 year old really doing tricks, and everything in between with about 10 kids there total. The best part was I saw all the older kids really watching out for the little ones and skidding to a stop or even falling to avoid crashing into a little one.  I’m proud of my girls and I’m happy to have friends raising great kids too.

 

IMG_9460

Fiona donated her helmet to one of the more daring kids.  She is very solid on that tank of a trike.  Germans make things to last.

 

Park 2 of the day is an old standby, one we actually used to go to nearly every 2 weeks, but the parents got bored of it and so we really didn’t go at all last year.  It is also a site for one of the summer camps for the morning so it is super crowded before noon.  After a 1.5h break at home where they ‘rested’ and I did some computer work and ate a peaceful lunch we headed over to Beltz park and I sent them in and cleaned out the car.  I like the social time at MOMs club meetups but I also like the solo time when I can do the planning for the week (since I don’t have much time like that at home now!).  The kids knew the other kids there from school or girl scouts and 2:30 seems to be the time everyone feels like going out post camp crowd.  I love that I don’t have to help them play, they just play.  This has been years in the making.

IMG_9476

#1 and #2 left for jujitsu after I insisted they scrub their hands and feet and they even helped pick up, #3 and I had a quiet night and she went to bed early.  Weekends end up with late bedtimes and by Monday she is just tired so Monday night is a good reset for her.

Countdown to being gone is starting, one of my planning tasks while watching them play was a packing list and it is going to be odd just packing for me.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Park time!”

  1. Ratika Bhardwaj says :

    ahhha friend, if u don’t get your clothes dirty while playing then u really haven’t enjoyed it…..lovely snaps!!! ❤ 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

