Getting back in my bubble

Weather – cloudy but warm, sunny afternoons.  Can’t complain

Bath water – unwashed!!! given more daylight and less strict schedule we somehow lost the routine.  Zoe and Fiona did roll down muddy hills the other day, that bath was NOT skipped and was very dirt colored.

Naps – Fiona just requested one.  Poor bug, we have plans, feel free to fall asleep early tonight (post bath)

Exercise – the Y opens tomorrow!  I’ve done 35min or more on the elliptical at least plus parent.

 

Last week I had some intense anxiety.  Usually I know what I’m worried about, its a trip or an event or something but this was just free floating like something really really bad was going to happen.  I even had nightmares of loved ones dying and overall my normal 5 hours of sleep slipped down to 3ish.  The problem was there was nothing I was actually really worried about personally, especially after the bogie of a last day of school/party/another party/camping trip was complete.

Then Orlando happened.

I have seriously no ties to the city, I care on a human level but I’m not personally linked.  I don’t even want to make the claim that my ‘premonition’ had anything to do with knowing something like that might happen.  The anxiety, however, is gone.

The thing is, if you are lucky enough to live in a nice place with good health and friends living in the bubble is a nice place to be.  Poke your head out of the bubble on any given day and you are likely to see something bad happening in the world.  This week it is 50 dead in Orlando followed by a 2-year-old being snatched and killed by an alligator – just to show us all that nature won’t be ignored just because you are paying attention to the horror show caused by humans.  And I’m not even looking hard!  If you start looking you can find any number of massive atrocities and minor tragedy.

Last night we watched a movie titled “Look who’s back” and it is the story of Hitler appearing in 2014 exactly where his bunker was.  Starts a little along the fish out of water and is vaguely funny but progresses to show how easily he picks right back up.  I could write thousands of words (I have actually, in various papers for college) on the fact that he was a brilliant man who identified real problems but solved them with a VERY VERY bad solution.  The thing is, the movie shows how easy it was to start small and build up using a mix of truth and hate and it pulls in the common man.  New Hitler marvels at the TV and the internet and how wonderful a propaganda method they are.  It’s a really well-done movie but a bit too close to home right now in the US.  I’ve ignored the ‘like Hitler’ references up to now because people overuse the phrase , every president/president candidate has been ‘like Hitler’ to someone.  Now though, it is closer to truth and I’m not sure what can be done.  I fall back on the fact that we are not electing a king, unlike 1933 Germany our government has a 3 angled check and balance system of government, and, I hope the good people who will stand up for themselves and their neighbor outnumber those who watch or follow.

I fall back on the fact that we are not electing an all-powerful king, unlike 1933 Germany our government has a 3 angled check and balance system of government, and, I hope the good people who will stand up for themselves and their neighbor outnumber those who watch or follow.  The outrage over each thing that happens gives me hope that we would not be silent.  However, it makes me not want to leave my bubble, because in here the biggest problem is who got more blueberries.

There is a little saying going around now and while I usually will appreciate and move on, this is one I will stand with and share; IMG_9326

And now I go out into my bubble world of friends and garage sale and sunblock and sprinklers.  I think I need a break from the news and the world.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

