Goodbye Shoreview

Weather; gray like my mood

nap; in progress – the car ride from the gym always knocks her out

workouts; heavy lifting and core and arms done for the day.

Today was my last in a long line of workouts at Shoreview, the beginning of the end of my era of time with little little kids at home.  We joined when Zoe was 1, we have had a thanksgiving dinner there in the community room, 2 birthday parties, I went swimming 1 day before Fiona was born and Niamh and Zoe both learned to swim there.

Going to Shoreview was one of the constants in my weekly routine.  We would all go and I would get 1 hour to workout and take a shower alone and then pick them up from kidcare and we would go to the indoor playground and then lunch and then home.  Every week for nearly 3 years.  I joke that getting stronger was a byproduct because I really went for the 1-hour break and felt obligated to workout to ‘earn’ it.  I went sick, I went tired, I went because in a world of ever-changing variables it was a constant I could count on.  I started staying home with a newborn, a 2-year-old and a 4-year-old and ZERO network.  The ladies at kid care were some of the only people that would happily take away my crushing responsibility of 3 mini tornados.

As the kids got older and each one started school reasons to go to Shoreview changed too.  What was once a way to escape the chaos of 3 for an hour turned into a way to fill the time for my lonely last child at home.  At one time my only evening of peace was when Lars took them all to Shoreview, that ended when we just had so many evenings full but the fact that he had an easy place to go meant I had a weeknight to recenter the house.

Today I said goodbye mentally and verbally 🙂

Goodbye Squat rack where I learned about heavy weights

IMG_7852

Good bye indoor playground, that baby I nursed in the corner is now holding the door open.

IMG_9212

 

Goodbye long walk through the gym where you have do dodge stray basketballs.  And bye to ‘the band’ and all the other people I have absolutely no knowledge of their name but I’ve seen them weekly for years.  Goodbye elevated track that I walked endless laps with an infant strapped to me and later Niamh had her first taste of independence when I let her run one lap alone…  
IMG_9213

Goodbye freeweights and machines and bank of tv’s that never had anything good on

IMG_9203

Goodbye endless stairs that make you  instantly sweat but burn a bazillion calories

IMG_9206

Goodbye kidcare friends, the machines and weights can be easily replaced but nobody else will ever hold my babies for me

IMG_9211

Goodbye $1 coffee and the string of cafe ladies that all learned how I like it (with ice).  This is the only place EVER that knew what I would order before I ordered it and how I like my coffee.  And goodbye lunchs after workout and play~
IMG_9214

 

Our YMCA is built and opens in 10 days.  I’m sure it will be great too, and like I tell the kids; “Don’t be sad its over, be happy it happened”.  Next year I won’t need kid care and the Y is only 5min from home so I can actually go more often and easily.  Shoreview was there for what I needed, when I needed it, and it isn’t disappearing!  I just won’t go every week anymore – now it will be a place we go for the great playground(s) every once and a while (unless this whole Y thing doesn’t work out, then I’m back 🙂

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

