Happy Birthday Fiona! But first with the Zombie MLP cake and the weekend…

Today Fiona turns 4, unbelievable yet totally believable because I’ve been here for all 4 of those years and I completely appreciate how far she has come!  My ‘dear Fiona’ post is in process but not ready but I can’t post ON her birthday and not even mention it.

This past weekend was all the fun.  We had friends come from ND so we made extra efforts to hang out with them.  Another friend hosted a BBQ and we did indeed bring the Cowboy Caviar mix that Lars made and I had a good time creating a My Little Pony Zombie cake.  It was a special request for a 13th birthday and I think I could not have done better and kept it tasty.  Fondant looks so nice, but, tastes so yuck.  I like to use a really simple chocolate recipe that is 1c heavy cream brought to a boil and then 9oz of chocolate added – stir until smooth and remove.  It’s great because you can pour it right on hot for a smooth shell look or wait until the consistency you want to ice with happens due to solidification.  You can also wait for it to cool and whip it and that makes it even better for smoothing or piping or even sculpting.   I firmly believe that MLP are full of rainbows so I started with a rainbow cake, then a crumb coat, then the icing, then  the accessories including swedish fish cut to look like ribs and whopper eyes and my extra ‘puppy chow’ got used as gnarly pony teeth.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The reason I got to do such a fun fancy cake was because our new neighbor is awesome!  She is a year older than Niamh but the younger of a boy/girl sibling set so they really don’t play together much and she is girl starved.  Their house backs on ours so you don’t even have to cross a street and the moms can both hear what is going on in the yard.  She loves coming over and plays with everyone, including Fiona, and they all played with very minimal parental guidance all day Saturday and half the day Monday.  I kept an ear on them (bonus to windows open time of year, and, a relatively small house) and around lunch time just piled up a tray with fruit and carrots and leftover pizza and just slid it into the playhouse entry.  I also got a good chunk of the routine cleaning done so today I don’t feel behind even though I semi missed my Monday.

IMG_9145

Sunday we actually got to go to Valley Fair!  The weather cooperated, Vacation Friend was able to go and as always we split nicely where I love the thrill rides and she loves the water stuff and the kids love her so we were set to cover the kids.  Our ND friends were the reason we were even going and they also lent a hand on the kid watching since there is nothing better for a 13 year old than the love and adoring company of little kids.  I ended up alone on a ride because they all choose other adults and/or teens to be near!  It was our first try to stay ‘late’ and it worked pretty well because Fiona just crashed out on me for an hour and a half in the sling and I missed a ride or 2 but no problem, I got the ones I really wanted first thing.

IMG_9155 IMG_9154

Yesterday was a holiday here so it was like a preview of my summer with 3 kids solo on a nice day.  The summer will need some time management instituted but overall it was a nice relaxing day. **I’m really really glad I got that play house done, it is such a perfect place for summer play**

That brings us to today, #3 birthday and I’m at cake capacity.  Today I made a bunt just to do something new but it has been a very good cake season.  We need to do our 3-girls ‘family’ party soon but thats another schedule issue that I’m going to think about tomorrow.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Happy Birthday Fiona! But first with the Zombie MLP cake and the weekend…”

  1. fancypaperblog says :

    Amazing cake! Happy birthday to Fiona. Looks like a lot of fun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

