Easter Review

status

weather – getting to be spring all the time now

nap – not today (so far) <-*** I took a nap for a whole hour. that is 1/5th my normal total sleep!  While I was asleep Fi also fell asleep.  Amazing

Easter Recovery – 99%

House – fair to good

Diet – up a half pound but that’s ok considering

 

This past weekend for us was Easter, the holiday that has vast religious implications that we semi-ignore.  I always feel a bit bad about that but I also don’t want to go to church 2x a year just for major holidays.  Honestly, none of the churches here really work for me and Lars just didn’t grow up with the habit and does not intend to make one.

^^^^

That paragraph has been sticking in me for 2 days.  I can’t just say “happy easer!” because I feel like I do not totally disserve this holiday and I can’t skip it because we didn’t and this is as much about the record of my kids growing up as it is anything else.  I heard a stat that the largest religion in the US is non-practicing RC and so that puts me in good company (kinda).  I enjoyed growing up in my church but that church does not exist here…  In a way there are too many options and zero sense of community – I see the same with the fact that there are 7 elementary schools and you can pick any of them.  You can’t just bond with your neighbor because of the schools because there is a high likelihood they choose differently.

 

Anyway, I took a nap and I feel better about life in general.  Getting 5 or less hours of sleep a night is just not good for me.  I go to bed at midnight, I don’t need to be up until 8am that should be a solid 7, if not 8, but I get 5 because of constant interruption.  I’m not sure how to deal with that issue with this child (I dealt with it in each of the others but both were different).  That still does not change the fact that I have religious issues/issues with religion but being tired makes them worse so I’m glad I napped.  I am running short on typing time though and I didn’t post yesterday because I can’t post about post easter until I tackle easter….

So here is a list!

  1. we had friends stay over, they changed the dynamic of the weekend for the good
    1. one of those friends claimed a distinct love of washing dishes, she now has an open invite forever.
  2. We took the kids to a local egg hunt Saturday and it was great, Won a raffle and Zoe got a prize egg plus it was well run and fun for all.
  3. Lars cooked a fantastic rack of lamb, I baked a really pretty cake
  4. I made a very cool trio of easter baskets IMG_8384
  5. We hid a puzzle in the eggs and we know we lost an egg because the puzzle is 3 pieces short…
  6. We found a way to make an IPA good – add 3 beers to a pitcher, add the equivalent of 1 beer of water, add 3-4 tbs sugar and a ‘bunch’ of lemon juice.
  7. After the disaster of behavior on Friday they were very good Saturday and Sunday
  8. Ate peeps at 7am
  9. Did 3 loads of the dishwasher  over the 2 days and still had a full load Monday to take care of.
  10. Our red wine glasses are just a tiny bit too tall for the dishwasher
IMG_8423

Soak before hand washing!

Yesterday I got the house back in line after the crazy weekend of big meals and house guests and we actually had 9 people over on Saturday too for our ‘normal’ game night.  It was fun and tiring and our kids will have a different growing up than I did but that’s ok.  They are surrounded by loving people and creative energy and we answer their questions about whatever with honesty including religious questions.  Niamh has a girl with a head scarf in school who does not celebrate ‘our’ holiday and I told her that  just like there are a dozens ways to add up to 10, there are dozens of ways to believe in god.  Maybe knowing that there is a lot of ways to be right will help her as much or more than as a firm grasp of the nuances of the religion she was born into.

And with that all I can say is Cheers!  Celebrate how and what you do!

IMG_8420

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

