Window….. Ledge

Status

Weather; sunny and 30-50 (yes, 20 degree spread today)

Easter readiness; 35%

Nap; Fiona yes… finally

House; could be worse

 

Last week there was a post from a blog friend talking about the sweet things she keeps on her window ledge and she asked what is on ours.  Like her, I spend a bunch of time at this particular window looking over the back yard.  It is where the sink is, where I can see the kids play, where the coffee maker is… it gets a lot of attention in the day.

As I was thinking about this post in general, this morning the daily prompt just happened to be “Window”.  I call that fate so here we go!

 

(please excuse the window glass, winter is just ending)

I snapped this picture right before I sat to write.  The sun is shining, the bigger two are outside, the little one is napping so we will see how far I get before I’m called back to mother….

IMG_8287

On the left is the Keurig.  This is a very important part of our kitchen and other junk important things were evicted to make space for it 2 years ago.  It is super handy to have it this close to the sink so we can easily fill the water tank. (It also won’t fit anywhere else, we have a small kitchen).

On the actual ledge is a set of very old IKEA tea lights, they were a gift from a friend in PA. She probably never gives me a thought, but, she was in the right place and time in my life to inform many parenting theories that I am very glad to know about.  Its hard to see but there is a glass bottle with some rocks with a glass chicken sitting on top.  The bottle is from Josie’s wedding and I need to get a little plant to live in there but so far I’ve enjoyed the rocks…  the chicken is from my mom, I’m not sure why she gave me a little red rooster but it reminds me of the Henny Penny the sky is falling story from when I was little.  Right next to that is a bottle stopper from my sister in Hawaii – since a bottle never goes unfinished here I keep it where I can look at it.

The next 3 mugs are all missing their handles.  The blue one is from Lars’ mom’s collection.  She loved these mugs and when Lars had about 3 seconds to choose something from ‘the estate’ he left with mugs.  Next two were gifts from an aunt of mine and I just really like the design but they are very fragile.  One is holding a mother’s day plant from last year, and the other, our paintbrush collection.  We actually paint a lot so they just live out in the open.

Right in front there is my collection of silicone baking cups.  They are hand wash so they pile up until I bake another batch of muffins and then I usually wash them as the oven is preheating.  Mixed in and around are various shells collected from various trips but you can’t really see them.  Finally, there is an ode to Lars’ obsession with Shark Tank, we HAD to have a scrub daddy (orange thing) and it actually does work really well.

This windowsill isn’t a bad reflection of my life at the moment.  Sentimental mixed with function, cleaning and baking and painting and the most needed coffee.

What is on your kitchen windowsill?

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Window….. Ledge”

  1. fancypaperblog says :

    Lovely!! I was writing about fairy tales not long ago and rediscovered Henry Penney and here she comes again. Enjoyed your sweet post, it is so funny how much you can learn about someone doing this, thank you for sharing !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

