Happy St Patrick’s Day!

status

nap – I believe she is sitting on her bed eating peaches and watching the kindle.  But ‘in bed’ counts?

House – Quite clean actually, sick kid can go either way but I’ve been at it while she was down.

Lake – entirely liquid again

Diet – gained 1/2 a pound over the vacation etc so back to counting.

 

Today is an odd day.  Since Fiona was sick we didn’t do any of the fun last day of break things on Monday  so I did the impossible; I did ALL the laundry ALL the way.  Tuesday we didn’t have plans because the plan was to catch up as it was the first day back to school but most of that was done so we actually did the random errands that have been piling up.  Wednesday filled up quick with work and volunteer things (like taking pictures of 70 baskets) BUT I had time to eat lunch with the kids at school, making their day. At the end of the day Fiona was super tired so went to bed early enough for me to get the kitchen really clean AND premade all the green lunches.  All that minutia means that today I actually don’t have much to do?  Weirdest feeling ever…

Don’t worry I filled the time.  I talked to my mom and my sister.  I found a few things we needed at the grocery.  Next up I intend to make some Irish soda bread  – have not done that is years but my choices are either clean out a closet or bake, I see a clear winner.

Isn’t life exciting over here!

I didn’t get good pictures of the kids outfits today and they are picture worthy so later…. regardless, here are my 3 St Patrick’s day things that make me happy.

1.) here is my yearly wearing of the “kiss me” tee shirt – I’m glad I’ve never been kissed by a stranger actually, but, it is probably because I tend to go places like grocery stores not bars while wearing the shirt.

IMG_8246

2) Here is the all green lunch – I hope they like the rice crispy treats

IMG_8243

3) I’m reserving this spot for the Soda bread that is in process.

4) Since I named a child Niamh and have had to endlessly tell everyone how to say/spell it I sent this link to her teacher today.  If you are interested in a well-accented man saying all the Irish names right, and, hearing the story of Niamh, click here… I suggest only listening to the first 5 minutes so you don’t hear the sad end.  Niamh is fine, poor Oisin turns to dust.  The Irish are like that.

Later today the kids plan on making a leprechaun trap.  Most people did it last night but Niamh logic was that today is the day they are romping and they are most susceptible to trapping at the end of the day.  They, at least, have low expectations because they have expressed to me that rainbows are #1 refracted light and #2 circles and #3 Leprechauns are magical and they can probably magic out of any trap.  I like to blend magic and science… and hey, you can’t prove a negative therefore you can’t tell me there are no magic creatures just because we don’t see them in our yard ;).  I also have a trick for them, more on that tomorrow…

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

