Schedule my life away

Status

weather; back to super cold but sunny today

house; normal level of crazy but you can see all kitchen surfaces

workout; I’ve managed something every day

diet; I weigh myself tonight but I think I’m making progress.  I can tell you that a single almond has 8 calories.

 

Monday mornings I’ve gotten in the habit of reviewing all the things to do that week and planning meals around that.  For a weather suctastic month we actually have a ton of planned activities and we need to squeeze in a trip to the Ice Palace.  Last year we went on Presidents day but my Groupon has that as a blackout date, and, Zoe has a cookie booth anyway.

On top of my own family things, I’m also working on keeping our MOMS club calendar going strong.  There are a ton of options but it’s such a careful balance of local things v driving v good for nappers and working around conflicting preschool schedules etc.  It’s a fun balance act and usually works out well but it adds to my feeling of busy.  At old work, I would have tons of meetings but I would seldom leave my desk and maybe once a day a meeting was across the office.  I could seriously wear 4in heels because for the 1000 steps a day I took they were no problems.  Now my heels only get taken for walks by Fiona because I walk 4000 steps around my own house most days, not to mention 10 flights of stairs at a min.

IMG_7650

A long time ago I read an A-list blogger (she even went to the WhiteHouse as a mommy blogger!) and she had a balanced formula in her head about posting – she tried to rotate through topics and level of intensity in her posts and have something for everyone and I think the phrase was “when I realize I don’t remember the last time I talked about X, that is what I write about next”.  I don’t do a great job of that here, but, I do in my real life.  I try to have a day with errands, a day with a close outing, a day with a bigger deal thing (museum or zoo style) and a day that we can just chill out.  I try to toss in practicing letters and baking related math and crafty art stuff but that is on the rotation of ‘it has been a while since’ because I also try and make sure there is just time for her/them to do their own thing.  The house is very often covered in villages populated by little people and ponies and animals of all type. I let them slide on doing chores if they are playing because I LOVE it when they all play together and if we end up not playing with play-dough for 3 months that’s the way it goes.

IMG_7620IMG_7763

I have tried a dozen ways to keep track of things and none are perfect because as soon as one gets easy to use all my needs change again!  Zoe got the gene though because she does this every day on her own.  (Today is ‘hat day’ in school so she choose the labor day one because it had lots of hats) It has been fun for her now that she can read the days and months to keep track of things on this.  Apparently they don’t do it in school and she misses it.

IMG_7771

I’ve gotten to the point where I now need to go parent, because I hear the end of the tv show.  This was a bit of a ramble but the point is, February is full;  I have 6 cookie booths, 1 SCA event, a dog sled expo, I’m going to the zoo tomorrow and the art museum next and sometime this week I need to finish up the valentines 🙂

Toodles for Now (Mickey Mouse club is now over….)

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Schedule my life away”

  1. fancypaperblog says :

    I use Peppa Pig slots…they are verrrryyyyy short!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

