Three things Thursday

After my condemnation of Slumberland yesterday I need to pour a little extra positive into today, good thing it’s Thursday!

#1  Halloween costume shopping is well underway.  I’m going with 3 totally different costumes, no common theme but they are all fun.

Niamh wants Pocahontas – very easy; dress with fringe that will go to the dress up bin after and I’ll buy brown boots she can wear for the season and embellish with some fringe.  Since Pocohantas doesn’t wear shoes in the movie I’m allowed to make that part up because in MN you HAVE to wear shoes…

Zoe switched around a ton but finally settled on an Owl.  She has always loved owls and I’ve always wanted to make one of the cool cloak of feathers costumes.  I went to the store undecided between fleece and felt.  Fleece is washable making the cloak a longer running garment but it tends to be more expensive.  Lucky day (kinda) fleece was on sale and the exact same price as felt.  For the body I’m making a big ‘sack’ style tunic with elastic at the bottom and top and post-Halloween I’m going to sew up the arm and head holes, add a zipper to the bottom, and voila! A new floor pillow in minky pink and brown.

Fiona wants to be a RED Superhero.  Not a specific superhero at all, she has no idea about lava girl and never saw Firestar (who is mostly yellow anyway) so I get to be as creative as I want with hers.  Its gong to be the least sewing costume of them all, just a red tutu and I’ll buy pants and a shirt and I already have a cape from SheRa.  I’ll be crafting the accessories so that will be fun.

IMG_6669

#2  I’m mid-project for upcycling the crib.  I hope to finish it up today and I’ve had fun with the puzzle of what hardware to use because my goal is that if we need to, it can be a crib again (but its so useful now!)

IMG_6667

#3 In the general category of organizing the garage for winter (and while I’m glad its happening it isn’t exactly fun) I actualy successfully sold this monstrosity on a garage sale site.  I got a whole $15 but I’m really just glad its OUT of my life and I smile every time I see the 5 square feet it used to take up empty.

IMG_6633

Honorable mention is my new Daisy girlscout, I’m happy to have a daughter follow in my scout footsteps and I’m more happy that I don’t have to be the leader.IMG_6660

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

