A little less social meadia to keep social

Yesterday I praised the megga that is FaceBook but we all know it has its flaws (including the perpetual hoax that it is going to publicize all our posts).   One of the reasons I have a selfie of myself with the moon is because I took it to send specifically to my cousins.  Why?  Well – it ties into one of the main reasons why I blog – to keep in touch with my family in NY, HI, ME, and CA etc.  HOWEVER, due to who know why reasons my cousins do not write an equally verbose blog so I don’t know much about THEM.  I have two options; let my cousins drift off and turn into people I only see at funerals and occasional holidays OR do something about it.  What I decided to do was start a Sunday Text Share.

I got everyone’s number, held my breath hoping that they would go along with it, and texted a little intro and a picture of my kids on Sunday morning.

What followed was beyond expectations….  of 9 people on the list all but 1 replied.  And not just replied once like I hoped, many of them texted throughout the day and it felt like we actually spent the day together in a way.  The best part is that by reaching into each of my sisters and cousins lives I get to see their husbands and friends and kids so from a 10 person list we get a snippet of life from 30+ souls.  We all grew up within a mile of each other and now we live all over half the globe but on Sunday I feel like they are neighbors again.

IMG_6082

kid cousins in the stream I played in with my cousins… Because we can’t do this often we can do the next best thing…

We have kept it up for a month now and I find myself taking extra pictures on Sunday to share and I’m always glad I have them later.  After I started this project I started seeing articles on the general subject of ‘keeping in touch’ (good old red-car syndrome) and the one that was most striking was that friendships are often about the little normal moments.  Of knowing that someone cooked steak or that just replaced a doorknob.  The mundane details that would never ever make a Christmas letter (of chit chat at a funeral…) but make a person real.  That’s what I’m looking for with my family and I think we are going that way.  Some of them are fantastic about posting on facebook, others not so much, but we can all* text and do 🙂  I hope we can keep this up, the technology is there and all my cousins have a phone so we are a very lucky 1st world family and this works for us.  I thought I might share since I know lots of families are spread out over the country and this is a way to use our current tech to keep in touch – who knows, maybe someday they will perfect the transporter and we can all do coffee weekly but until then this will have to do.

 

*ok, one cousin apparently can’t – you can lead a horse to water…. still not bad overall

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

