House happenings

We are moving into our 3rd week of school and (fingers crossed) the first 5 day stretch for both.  The first week was only 4 days, the second they each had a sick day and here we are at week 3…

I say it takes 2 weeks to get used to anything and you can get used to anything in two weeks.  Proven true again. Those first few mornings were crazy trying to re-remember how to pack lunch and wear socks and get to the bus on time.  There is a new bus protocol where we have to go through the daycare building rather than wait in the parking lot.  I’m still not ‘used’ to that nuance of annoyance but I’m working with it.  Homework routine is established.  The balance has now tipped and instead of Niamh being odd man out with homework and longing to go play with her sisters (for the record we usually let her and she did her homework in the morning, our bus comes at 8:40 we have time) – Fiona wants to join her sisters so I have to make up ‘homework’ for her as I help the other two.  Thankfully for Kindergarten and Second grade the homework is more a demo of what they are learning and a minor amount of practice and, if they just do it, it only takes 10 min or less.

During this transition 2 weeks I jumped back into business mode a bit.  The networking group yielded real results and I’m happily setting up a new client.  That did mean 3 meetings I had to wiggle into the schedule but most kids have 2 parents that work full time, mine can handle me being in or at a meeting a few hours a week.

What Fiona and I do all day is getting redefined too.  I’ve found I CAN do a bunch of housework so long as I’m within her sight and/or she leaves me.  She is not a fan of me going places without her but will often be happy to come with me to the laundry or pantry etc.  I basically CANT touch a computer unless she is asleep.  That shifts things around but I can work with it.  She is also growing out of naps.  She still needs them but has trouble getting calm enough to actually lie down.  The nap walk – me walking about a mile with her in the stroller – is our compromise and she requests the nap walk.  I am glad this works for now but I’m not sure about winter.  Given what I CAN do in the form of longer projects, we have been working on transitioning Fiona’s room from nursery to bedroom.  We got her a nice shelf to replace the changing table that has been nothing but storage for months.  We also convinced her finally that she could leave her crib.  She isn’t so sure about the lack of walls and she told me this morning her bed was too short but at some point you have to put the crib away.  Now I get to go on Pinterest and see what I can do with a crib 😉

I’ve also gotten sucked into these brain teasing games and I Highly Recommend.  They are on the gory side and a little creepy but clever and well done.  I used all my Fiona asleep time yesterday on one of these….  Sorry in advance about what you will now neglect because you are clicking clicking clicking….

That is the long and short of what I’ve been doing.  Weekends are getting to be the fun-zone time again since we can’t do many things during the week.  I’m still doing plenty of playdates with Fiona and the world is just easier with a single child **but only after you have had a bunch**  I’m sure an only child is a handful if they are all you know.  Kids are like goldfish, they expand to take up all the resources you possibly have.

I must get back to the list of things to do, that mail pile isn’t going to sort itself.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

