Did I just put my toe it or did I jump?

A good MBA-friend, and my financial planner, gave me a semi-gentle shove toward a networking group.  Wow.  It was really very cool!  I like networking in general, what’s not to like, a collection of people who choose to come together to help each other succeed in business; Social interaction + Capitalism = Win.  I was a bit afraid when there was another social media person but she does the other end (like there are ends… ha! more like spaghetti pie) and her preference is in the setup of a site/platform and my preference is continuing content, so, complimentary really rather than conflicting.

I walked in with just about no sleep because Niamh got sick around 3 am and kept me informed of her pain and suffering until morning.  The 30min stretches of sleep were full of anxiety dreams half based on a networking meeting, half on sick kids, and another extra half on Niamh messing up my Ingress game.  Good thing people in general give me more rather than less energy and I left with a fist full of cards, a meeting set up, and a few “I’ll call yous”.  In return, I have a few things I can immediately reach out to people I know, and, a pocket full of people I can recommend when people ask (and I get asked a lot actually).  Too bad there wasn’t a handyman there, maybe he could have done my roof…  I bet the group knows someone.  I have to talk to Lars about joining the group officially and look at the rules because I’m not sure I can actually go every single week but I highly recommend the BNI networking format since it runs quickly and smoothly.  Lucky for me at least 5 MBA classes had ‘elevator’ speech components so I’m decent at giving 30 seconds of info.

Later tonight I hope to go to my first PTA meeting.  Who knows what that will be like but I’ve got my win for the day already, it would just be extra good to find TWO cool new groups of people.

IMG_6573

ps.  Niamh is fine, I think she ate too much ice cream and when she finally purged herself of the evil burger king concoction at 7am she was fine and is enjoying a lazy day at home.

pps.  as I was spell checking I got the call that Zoe is sick at school.  Oh well.  cross fingers for a fast and easy virus because Niamh has been right as rain all day post puke.  Off I go!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

