Simple Human – Thank you

A few years ago I went on a hunt for a good garbage can.  I even blogged it so I know for sure when I acquired this particular piece of kitchen furniture.

The hunt yielded a simple human product and it was on the expensive side, around $100, but it was absolutely worth it!  It functioned just like it should with the holding in of trash and related smells.  I also liked the features of the soft close lid, the removable liner for easy(er) cleaning, and the fact that the trash bag tucks neatly and easily between the plastic liner and the can so it looks neat and the bag never falls in on itself.  Bottom line – fantastic specimen.

Sadly, over the past month a crack developed in the plastic lid, right by the hinge.  It was more or less the weakest point of the can and the only consistent negative on the reviews on Amazon.  To be clear, there is nothing I see flawed with the part, or really even the design, but after about a million opens and closes stress cracks happen.  They might have made that part out of metal but then I bet it would dent since the lid of the trash can often becomes an extra surface for things to be put down and, some other bit would have broken first and from all I learned about product design you actually want to design the weakest part of the system to be an easy part to replace because something always HAS to be weakest.

IMG_5717

Anyway – yup, crack traveled and lid broke and we all were sad.  I went to Amazon to order a new one and since we liked it so much I didn’t even bother to restart the hunt, my plan was to buy the same can again.  In double checking that I was getting the same can I noticed that there was a 5-year warranty and checking my trusty blog I see it has only been 4 years.  So I send a little note and Vola! a very nice customer service person says that they 100% stand behind their product and gave me a link to order the replacement and the item number so I didn’t even have to search.  The site was pretty basic but easy to use and there is a check box to show if it is a warranty item and I didn’t have to jump through any crazy hoops to prove I had one or that it was broken and in a week we had this on our doorstep.

IMG_5720

I stalled a few days dreading what I thought might be an onerous job of installing the replacement lid.  There was a lull in the evening and the lid fit the bill for novelty cleaning (plus I wanted to get rid of the box).  Once I really looked at the directions and the mechanism it was actually a really easy change.  It took me longer to clean the can, since why not, then it did to completely replace the top.

I suppose I’m either jaded or have a pretty low bar for being happy but I’m very very glad that Simple Human stands behind its items, it has a simple replacement system, my part still existed, and it was easy to do.  Most of all I’m glad that my garbage can now works 100% again 🙂

IMG_5719

If you are in the market I highly recommend Simple Human

ps.  this is all free will writing for me, Simple Human didn’t ask and isn’t giving me anything (well… other then the lid, but they would give that to you too if yours broke)

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

