Marshmallow frosting hack explored

Today I had a playdate at a friend’s new house.  Snacks are never ‘required’ but I like to bring something to share and I just saw this Marshmallow hack for frosting on facebook yesterday.

So I happen to have a dozen cupcakes in the freezer.  I found out long ago that we don’t eat more then maybe 6 or 8 cupcakes before we get tired of them so when I make a batch the majority go right into the freezer.  I also tend to make small cakes for the kids birthdays (same reason, 5 people only need so much cake) so I cupcake up the remainder and into the freezer it goes.  This is super handy for bringing cupcakes places and we always have a dessert but I was curious about the marshmallow ‘frosting’ idea

1. Does it actually work?  so many of these hacks are really way too hard to actually do on your first try (if they even work)  Will it just be a sticky mess?

2. Can I modify it to be done on already baked cupcakes? Like would they get dry?

3. Is this tasty?

4. Is it easy?

For those who like the journey read on –

For those who just want the answers:

1. Works – yes, at least most of them worked in the modified version so make extra if you want all perfect ones

2. Modify – yes, worked great, not dry at all

3. Tasty – Yes, it was not too sweet though

4. Easy – yes – as long as you have a light touch

Here is my start – frozen cupcakes and a bag of marshmallows

IMG_5326

Pre heat oven to 350

I lined the pan in case of escapees – the pro to pre cooked and frozen is that they don’t need a muffin tin, I think the higher sides of a tin would make overflow sticky more of an issue.

IMG_5327

Then carefully balance the marshmallows on top.    You can see one of them is already trying to fall off…

IMG_5328

Putting them into the oven was slow and steady but no casualties.

IMG_5329

The original hack said 5 min but at 2 min they looked like this;

IMG_5330

I took them out at 3 min and just ‘squished’ each one gently with an offset spatula.  The ones that fell off I put back on but they were really really sticky.

IMG_5331

out of 16 I had 12 perfect looking ones and the taste taste went very well.  She was looking for more and all the kids there liked them (and the moms too).  The pre heat was the longest wait so worth doing again…

IMG_5333

Here is my control group – they were on the mushed side so I didn’t try to marshmallow them, but, they were completely soft by 10:05 so I had no fear that the ones I baked for 4 min were also defrosted in that 1 hour on the counter.

IMG_5332

Now I’m wondering if I can do them in the microwave?  Can I defrost and melt in the same time or 2 step process?  I’ll get back to you….

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Marshmallow frosting hack explored”

  1. triSARAHtops says :

    I’m so glad to see this works! I’ve been debating trying it 🙂

    Like

  2. afairymind says :

    They look very nice! I might have to try that. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

