S – is for Songs

I really don’t have a strong preference for a particular music, I more or less like it all.  The notable exception is any ‘music’ that includes inhuman screaming of the ‘lyrics’… So… I don’t listen to much death metal from the Scandinavian region.

What I do like is singing in general and while I’m not a great singer by any stretch I am a creative singer.  I sing special bedtime songs to each of the kids that is a customized version of a Laurie Berkner song.  I created a naptime song for Fiona.  Zoe adores my sung recounting of what happened in her day with the chorus; “Zoe is my middle girl and she is very special…” sung to an upbeat version of ‘Lemon Tree’ that I do after her bath.  I also have a very festive potty song that I’ve sung about a million times and I’m very glad it is short.  I make up words to songs all the time and have so much in their lives that all my girls do it too.  Here is a short clip of what my life is like when I tell them I’m making chicken pie for dinner;

So does Lars and he has always done it, part of his charm to me.  He makes up plenty of unique ditties but his speciality is replacing key words in kids music to make it much more amusing.  This might not make sense to those not in the loop of kids TV but if you really care to hear the actual songs I liked to youtube

For Dora and Friends the Hola Hola song actually says ‘buen vineto’ but our version is ‘buen Doreto’

Umizoomi – a catchy song about ‘mighty math powers’ begs to have math replaced with things like ‘ass’  or the slang meaning for a male chicken

Dora the Explorer – the original – goes “Dora Dora Dora the Explorer” but a more realistic line is “Dora Dora Corporate Whore-a” when you see her face on just about every possible kid thing.

He also messes with the girls singing the wrong words to all the My Little Pony songs but he keeps them clean.

I love hearing the songs the kids create.  They know all sorts of styles of music thanks to people like my favorite Daniel Ingram who use all sorts of styles in creating their music for TV.  We also play an eclectic mix and Pandora on tap helps too.  So for not being musical really, there is a ton of music going on here.

For posterity, here are the bedtime songs.  Feel free to skip this section, I’m writing with the naive notion that my kids might read it someday~

Niamh – Based on Moon Moon by Laurie

Moon moon moon, Shining Bright

Moon moon moon, my night light

Moon moon moon I can see

Moon moon moon you’re taking care of Niamh

Look up its the moon

Look up its the moon

Look up its the moon up in the sky.

Its big and round, and I have found that it looks just like a lemon pie.

Moon moon moon, Shining Bright

Moon moon moon, my night light

Moon moon moon I can see

Moon moon moon you’re taking care of Niamh

Zoe – Based on Nona by Laurie

Zoe Zoe heres your song

Zoe Zoe all night long

Zoe Zoe rocking chair – hold you close and take you there

Zoe Zoe time for bed

Zoe Zoe sleepy head

Zoe Zoe you know its true – now and always we love you

we, love, you

Fiona – based on, you guessed it, Goodnight by Laurie

I’m a little tiger and my mommy loves me

I’m a little tiger and my daddy loves me

and when they tuck me in to say good night they say

roar roar roar

good night

goood night gooood night, good night Fiona good night

goood night gooood night, good night, good night, good night

I’m a little sister and my Niamhy loves me

I’m a little sister and my Zoe loves me

and when they tuck me in to say good night they say

“Good night Fiona”

good night

goood night gooood night, good night Fiona good night

goood night gooood night, good night, good night, good night

naptime – original creation by me 🙂

Nap time, nap time, time to take a rest

Nap time, nap time,  nap time is the best

its the time for little girls

who someday want to rule the world

to lay there little head to rest

and know that mommy wants the best

for nap time, nap time, time to take a rest

Potty – also original ::all while dancing::

Fiona (or whoever) peed in the potty!

Fiona (or whoever) peed in the potty!

yeah yeah yeah yeah yeah!

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “S – is for Songs”

  1. Janet Thomas says :

    This brought many smiles today…

    Like

Leave a Reply

