Snack Mom March Edition

I’m so glad that last Friday I opened up Niamh’s folder and looked at everything because I usually reserve that pleasure for Monday morning.  This, being the beginning of the month, contained the snack calendar for the month!  Usually she (I? we?) is toward the end of the month but somehow we were bumped up in the world and our day to provide snack for all 25 kids is Tuesday (TODAY!) so if I had waited until Monday I might have had to phone it in with a pack of cookies but luckily I got it in time.

Niamh (I/we) have gotten a pretty good rep in the class for fun snacks.  Niamh always reports that people like them but I got a rave review from the teacher when I stopped by to drop off something Niamh forgot.  She says there is actual excitement and guessing and peeking into her bag or box on snack day.  The bar is not high because most kids bring gummies but its fun for me.

IMG_3934

There was a bit of an extra stress this month because of vacation planning.  I need to pack and clean and continue to parent so less time than normal given a 4 day lead time.  Pinterest to the rescue!  I looked up St Patricks day since thats the thing and found this cute thing.

Inspiration pic by smart school house.com

Then I found these jokes to add to them (maybe getting them to read will make up for the fact I’m giving them sugar balls of unnatural color).

Capturing Joy site, and, the download even works although I just wrote the answers on the back rather than mess with 2 sided printing and my POS printer

I’m getting good at making my own labels in Excel rather than relying on printables because they often don’t work for me, or, the size is not what I needed.  The trick is to make a text box, type, mess with the font and color until it looks cool then add clip art.  Select all and merge it then copy and paste it to fit 3 rows of 3 landscape.

 

I probably put way too much thought into these but I want to balance fun with cost with nutrition with safety with mess level as well as my ability to make it and Niamh’s ability to get it to school on a bus.  That is a bunch of variables…  For this Lepracon rainbow I used;

sandwich sized ziploc

1 family sized box of Trix

1 bag of gold wrapped candies

roll of green ribbon

25 jokes, 25 “don’t get Trix” tags.

hole punch

scissors

1c scoop.

 

I don’t think I really need to write out How-To but my only tip is to put the tags (1 joke, 1 label) back to back so the answer does not show and hole punch them at the same time.

Instead of staples I used a tag and tie method because I didn’t want them ripping the bags open and spilling all the trix.  Longer to do but I think worth it.

Niamh helped this time by cutting the papers and filling the baggies with cereal using a 1c scoop.  She also added the chunk of gold wrapped candy to each bag and we made 3 special ones that had sugar candy not made on machines that also processed nuts.  I did the hole punch and ribbon cutting and tying and together we were done in about 15 minutes.  I have no idea if Niamh will remember these specifically but I sure am teaching her assembly line project management 🙂

 

I hope they all like them!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Snack Mom March Edition”

  1. mamalisa4 says :

    I LOVE this idea (prob more than the kids) 🙂 🙂 Adorable! You are my superhero – Great job Mom!

    Like

Leave a Reply

