Honored (kinda) (I think?)

Today on my ‘working day’ I am sitting down to complete the ballot for the 2014 Bloggies.  I was so pleased to be (randomly) selected to vote but it actually boils down to homework…

IMG_3747

I got assigned categories I’m not in but it is actually really fun to see who was nominated in areas I have no idea about.  Like Asia blogs…  there were a TON to sift through so I got to break out my excel skills and rank them based on what I feel a ‘blog’ is all about.  They needed to first be Asian and sadly there were 2 that clearly had no connection to Asia at all.  They had to be live links and again, 2 were private only blogs so they were out.  They might have fabulous communities full of great content but part of the proposition of winning this style award is for new people to find you.  Logically if you are not open to the public you don’t really want random readers coming over.  I am unsure what to do about the news sites… they are not really original content but they do serve the community.  I was on the fence about corporate sites that had a ‘blog’ component.  I dutifully looked at them all and they were not impressive, many only had a few posts.  In the end I have 10 really good sites to think about from Asia and of those a few are going to end up on my feed reader too because they really disserve readers.  **I didn’t see any privacy or gag clauses on the Bloggie site about this but for personal ethics I’m not going to say anything specific or more until there are results**

 

I’m mid way through the list of categories now and looking at the Australian/NZ blogs is such a contrast to the Asia blogs.

 

I have no idea how anyone else is judging but I hope they are having a good time.  Maybe I even stand a chance in my category? Time to get back to it so I can submit and move on to the next thing on the list….

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Honored (kinda) (I think?)”

  1. Hellbilly Mama says :

    Congratulations on being chosen. Thank you for the Post. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

