I feel like I’m not wearing undies

(but I am…)  But I DON’T have a functional cell phone!!!  Saturday I got a new iPhone (the 6 human not giant size) so my old phone was deactivated from the network.  I should have been able to easily back up my old phone to the PC then put that backup onto the new phone but somehow the new phone won’t acknowledge my ipassword.  Annoying.

 

I ordered a case online so I am kinda ok that it isn’t fully functional yet.  Case is supposed to arrive today *go Prime!* and for most of my day, my old phone is just fine.  I can read e-mail and look things up and text my family and I don’t really make all that many phone calls usually.  The down side is that I don’t have a phone in my pocket and in the world of not wifi I have nada.

 

Today I had a playdate at a friends house I had never been to.  No phone.  No GPS.  I have functioned without a smart phone for most of my life so I should be able to handle this….  I looked up the address and mapped it and wrote down on a piece of paper the address, directions and even the street right before her street plus mileage for the big section.  Then I went out the door with a grocery list and my directions just like it was 2002. Oh wait, in 2002 I had a phone at least… I could call if I got lost.  I went out the door like it was 1999!

I went into walmart and it was a gray day.  I left walmart and it was snowing dinnerplates!  Not too bad (yet) so I decided to just go for it.  I put all visions of accidents out of my head and drove.  On the long stretch instead of glancing at my phone, I was glancing at my odometer counting miles – good to know distracted driving isn’t new.  I got there no problem but the whole time I felt like I was missing something critical.

Reverse trip was much easier since the mini blizzard passed and it was still slushy on the road I was much more calm.  Home again and I’m waiting waiting waiting on that case so I can call and trouble shoot my phone and get it into the game.

So odd that for 19 years I didn’t have a phone.  For the next 10 I had a dumb phone.  I’ve only been a smart phone user for 5 years but now I feel naked without it.  I could definitely get used to being out of touch, I am just fine navigating with a regular map or remembering things but life is easier and better when that is a choice not the only reality.

I may blame the snow for not going out again, but, its really my lack of safety net that will keep me safe inside my wifi zone~

IMG_3760

So glad we went to the playdate anyway – frost your own cookie!

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

