updating things around here

Every so often I get ‘itchy’ about success.  I know I lead a charmed life with healthy kids and a good house and family but staying home (as we all know) is not much about the success as it is about the survival.  Technically that was how my last job was too, I constantly had my feelings hurt because it was never ‘good enough’ and always ‘what have you done today’.  I suppose that was training for the real job of raising kids 😉

Having a blog is one way that I try and earn a bit of ‘success’.  Hitting that 500 mark was awesome, all the positive feedback on the group style posts really makes my day.  Trust me, every single day of mine contains literal poop, I find positive where I can.  However… just like the angst I get when looking at LinkedIn at my former coworkers I sometimes get ticked that there are blogs out there for a year that are 100x more popular.  I realize that this blog is apples to oranges to those and after thinking about it there are a few clear paths to blog success but those paths are very corporate – one subject style sites and I would prefer to keep writing this more like a diary and/or a wordy facebook.  However, there are a few things that I’ve been doing to steer toward measured increases in success.

1. post daily – check – not all weekends but most days

2. join some projects – check – hope they keep working!

3. update and change my sidebars – check – I’ve let go of the graveyard of a blog roll and now I have more of a dynamic list of who I follow on WP

 

I am glad 99% of the time that this is just a hobby for me and I’m 99% happy for the people who hit the right thing at the right time for big time success.  Just having a place to write is really nice and knowing a few people read is nice too.   I’m a very social person, I just did my 2014 miles for MOMS club (the not for profit club I’m chapter president of) and in a single year I drove roughly 415 miles for outings with the club.  I attended 105 events and hosted 6 events at my house not counting board meetings.  If I don’t get something interactive in a day I start to feel worse about life the universe and everything.

 

So – If there are suggestions for how to make this the next big thing though I’m all ears 🙂 Otherwise I’m going to keep positive and keep writing here there and other places~

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “updating things around here”

  1. Becky says :

    The super successful (have quit their day jobs) bloggers I read post a lot of pictures.

    Like

Leave a Reply

