I’m planin a road trip!

My sister generously gave me her timeshare.  Kinda like giving someone an oil painting; now you need to frame it 😉  She had already pre chosen the place in FL and put it on dates we could go (Niamh’s school break) but all other details were up to me.

I have not been on a vacation that was not going to my parents, going to a wedding, or going to an SCA event in 10 years.  Usually we combo them all and go to visit my parents at an SCA event, or, a wedding.  Anyway this was exciting and scary got downright daunting when the work-monster required 110% of Lars’s time.  He is neck deep in a massive project that like all massive corporate projects is spinning one way and then the other but the bottom line is there was basically no chance he could come.  So this problem just dark clouded in my brain for a few weeks.

My #1 plan was ‘bring my mom!’ but that was foiled because she is going to Hawaii to see the sister who gave us the timeshare.  #2 plan was my other sister who has a son the same age as Fiona, but, she works in my parents family business so she is in charge of everything while they are gone #3 plan was Miss Math but her vacation weeks don’t line up.  Should I go solo?  Vacations are supposed to be fun…  So I ask Facebook and Facebook delivered.  What was a problem yesterday is now a fun thing I’m looking forward to.  A friend here and her son, the same age as Niamh, are delighted to go!  Bonus, with another adult from here we can drive, so the depressing $400 per person airplane tickets are now in my rearview mirror.  Driving will take 3x but we will have a car there, we can bring more than I can cram into a carry on, and, we have the opportunity to see some fun things on the way.

Now we need suggestions of things to see ‘on the way’ from MN to FL.  We need to work out details of when we leave but the kids have Friday off, check in is 4pm on Saturday so just driving those 2 days we would make it fine.  If we leave Thursday we have time for more fun on the way.

I love when things work out!

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “I’m planin a road trip!”

  1. arlandon8571 says :

    Sounds like a lot of fun. I remember our drive from CA to LA then to FL. Really recommend stopping at any stop that has fresh orange juice. Some also have neat baby alligators. Enjoy your trip.

    Like

Leave a Reply

