Something quick about long screws

I hate missing days, gets me out of the rhythm ~ This weekend was a big push to get the pantry (this phase at least) finished and I did it!  Between naps and daddy outings and slightly more TV then I wish I scraped together enough time to put things in.

One of the last things I had to do to get it ready for ‘stuff’ was to fix a little screw problem.  The screws I had were too long for the wood.  The other screws were too short to do any good.  I went with the longer figuring I would think of something.

IMG_3641

nasty little screw tip. Looking to scrape and gouge my stuff!

Dad, don’t worry, I didn’t use a chisel.

(Lars didn’t either)

I googled “what to do when your screw is too long” and “screw too long for wood” and thank goodness I have safe search on but I did find this site that addressed it nicely and his ultimate solution was to use a file.  That would not work for me because a. I don’t have a file, b. the screws were really kinda far away, nearly longer than my arm.

I took one of his alternative suggestions and I want the internet to have a second place to find out “what to do when the screw pokes through the wood”. (Before you forget and rip the bottom of a tote open)

Take the screw out again and cut off the extra!  Brilliant!  The hole is already there so you don’t need the tip anymore.  Put it back in the same hole and it goes right back in easy at pie.

IMG_3642

I used my go-do cutting tool, a bolt cutter.  This is the MVP of my tool kit, purchased because Lars lost the key to a padlock on his armor bag when in New Orleans, he toted the thing home and for something you think you will only use on locks we have used on dozens of things (wire shelving modifications, coat hanger projects etc) over the past 10 years.  It does a neat job and does not need a ton of muscles to do it.  If you don’t happen to have a bolt cutter wire cutters would work too I’m sure.

So not the most interesting post in the world here but if you, like me, are asking the internet what to do about the screws that are sticking through the wood, now you have an answer.

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Something quick about long screws”

  1. petranellascloset says :

    We now own 4 different sizes of bolt cutters, for various reasons.

    Like

Leave a Reply

