Progress!

Knock on wood, there has been no blood, sweat or tears.  No sweat only because I was in between the warm room and the frigid   garage.  No tears because mistakes, while numerous and annoying, have not been unsurmountable and I have no witnesses.  No blood – probably luck, and, those 5 million hours spent in safety training at work did sink in.

So far I’ve spent just under 1k in round numbers and that includes the structure, floor, paint and hardware so far.  I think I still have about $150 left in my ‘budget’.  I’m not counting that we bought a new drill set because that was my birthday present and I’m not counting labor…  I’m officially at the point where I really need to figure out just what shelf configuration I honestly want because that is the next step.  The two big (2ft deep) tote shelves are up!!!!

IMG_3609

big high up tote shelf. Don’t mind that hoodie hanging on a rogue bracket that got put in at a totally wrong spot and the screw is stripped so I’m SOL. It makes a good, very very strong, coat hook.

IMG_3611

tote, on shelf, AWESOME

IMG_3610

floor, trim, paint… ta da! ps. the only real perk of doing construction just after christmas is the plethora of large sheets of cardboard.

While doing all this I realized that all the working out I do has actually made me stronger.  I know!  NASA here I come!  All the time I work out I don’t ever count on results, I don’t even really think about them, I just do the exercises for random vanity/ amorphous ‘health reasons’.  In my head I have a vague goal of being a size 6, I want to be a good example for the girls, I like feeling healthy but I was honestly amazed that I could take a 7ft x 2ft 1/2in sheet of plywood, lift it over my head, climb a ladder, and then place it onto the brackets 18in from the ceiling WELL over my head.  I’m quite pleased that my body cashed the checks my brain wrote.  Also, putting big fat screws into studs is hard but I did it, lots of times.

The big question right now is do we leave the freezer in the pantry or not.  It takes up a chunk of real estate, but, it is nice to get my chicken nuggets in relative comfort not hopping in a freezing garage using my phone as a flashlight because it is too cold for light to travel through air….  Thinking thinking.

Ps. thank goodness for nap time.  Today I had Zoe to help, she put on the light switch cover solo and handed me tools.  Since I was perched on top of the freezer it was nice to have someone handing me things.  She does NOT like the compressor but she does like the air-nailer.  We might have 4x the number of nails strictly necessary but it was fun.

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Progress!”

  1. inspiredbykristal says :

    Blog surfing today when I should be working and I stumbled upon your post. You can apparently remove a stripped screw with a rubber band. Now I have not tried this so I can’t vouch for its validity, but here is the link:

    http://lifehacker.com/5462520/remove-a-stripped-screw-with-a-rubber-band

    Like

Leave a Reply

